Skip to content

recipe: afritada or apritada.

November 11, 2009

Lately, I’ve been craving Filipino food. Maybe it’s because I know I am going to be eating some great Filipino meals (when my husband and I visit my parents this weekend). Or maybe I’m just getting more in touch with my roots. Either way, I love my native country cuisine.

Tonight, I made afritada (or, pronounced by us Filipinos, “apritada”), which is a tomato-based stew of sorts. You can make this dish with pork, beef or chicken and with a few vegetables, and eat it with steamed rice. Here’s the recipe (not sure how exact it is, but the end product ended up tasting pretty close to my dad’s recipe). Enjoy!

IMG_0635IMG_0639

Ingredients

  • 5 chicken tenderloins, cubed
  • 1 large potato, cubed (without the skin)
  • 1 can (about 14 oz) of stewed tomatoes, drained
  • 1 can (about 14 oz) of petite diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/2 cup sweet peas
  • 3/4 cup tomato paste
  • 2 cups water
  • olive oil
  • 2 or 3 tbsp of garlic (or more, if you want!)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • salt and pepper

1. Heat a few tablespoons of olive oil in a large, deep sautee pan. When the oil is heated, add the chicken pieces and cook until light brown.
2. Add the garlic, all the tomatoes and tomato paste in the pan, stir well. Season with salt and pepper.
3. Add the water, stir, cover and simmer for 15 minutes.
4. After 15 minutes, add the carrots, potatoes and onion. Also add the basil and oregano. Mix well, cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes.
5. Add the peas last, simmer for about 3 minutes, then turn off the heat.
6. Let stand for a few minutes before serving with rice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

