Skip to content

how to survive moving or, eating my weight in fried chicken.

October 27, 2010

So we did it! We are done moving. (Okay, 99.99% done – just a couple of more odds and ends at our apartment)

Thanks to our amazing families, we managed to move most of our belongings plus a piano, trundle bed and a bicycle in four hours this past Friday night. Approximately from 8 pm to midnight. Why in the world would we do such a thing? Because of the forecast of rain on Saturday. And boy, did it RAIN. I’m so so glad we moved Friday night. Even though we didn’t eat dinner until 1 am. And that we finally went to sleep in our new house at 3:30 am.

But, let’s get back to my original point. How to survive moving. This is by no means an exhaustive (but it IS an exhausting) list. Just a list of things that my tired brain can think of at the moment and all that I can remember from this whirlwind month:

1. Lists help.
Make lots and lots of lists. My husband and I sat down and talked and made lists of what needed to be done, things that needed to be purchased, money that needed to be saved. It helps to sit in a coffee shop with good drinks to help ease any tension that can come with the MONSTERTHATISCALLEDMOVING.

2. Schedule, schedule, schedule!
Maybe I’m just a bonafide nerd but I heavily rely on calendars and I most certainly did as we closed on our house and prepared for the move. Because we had about a month between closing date and move-in, we had several weekends to work in our house. I designated a weekend for us to remove wall-paper, to paint over walls and to pack last minute items. Because we had great help from family and friends, we were able to be ahead of schedule and not stress out (too much) about getting the house prepared.

3. Family and friends are important.
I don’t how much I can emphasize the gratitude my husband and I have for our wonderful friends and family, who toiled with us over crummy wallpaper, spackle, sanding, moving and unpacking. Amazing, I tell you! Don’t be afraid to ask for help. You will be surprised at how many people are willing to lend a hand as they rejoice with you in your new adventure.

4. Accept the fact that you will probably not eat the healthiest of meals.
As much as I wished I could have made healthy home-cooked meals every night this past month, it was just not to be. We ate a lot of pizza, a lot of pasta, bagged salad, eggrolls, Chinese food and fried chicken. Yeah. Not exactly pure nutrition, but we made do. After all, both my husband and I work full-time jobs and the rest of our “free” time was taken up by everything and anything house-related. We just tried to supplement our meals with vegetables during lunches (we eat in our university’s cafeterias) and good ‘ol Cheerios for breakfast. Plus, lots and lots of water. But let me be honest with you. I have eaten fried chicken in the last three days. Oy! I love fried chicken but I’m done with it. For now.

5. Pray for grace and patience.
Don’t use prayer as a last resort. Use it in the beginning, middle and end. I’m grateful that my husband and I survived this month with more than enough grace and patience with each other. God helped us with so many things – from compromising when we couldn’t see eye to eye, being okay to disagree on opinions, remembering to laugh and know that even though a house IS a very important thing, it’s just a material possession. (Okay, a very expensive material possession.)

Now that we’re moved in and our kitchen is completely unpacked (thanks to our amazing mothers), I am excited to get cooking again. First meal cooked in our new-used kitchen? Chickpea curry for dinner last night, in my attempt to regularly incorporate vegetables back into evening meals. Also, because we now have a thing called a monthly mortgage payment, I will be cooking more vegetarian meals throughout the week to help our grocery budget out a bit.

Here’s my trusty little recipe (based on the label of this great curry paste in a jar):

image found here

Chickpea Curry (adapted from Patak’s Curry Recipe)

Ingredients

  • 4 tbsp of Patak’s Curry Paste (mild)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 14 oz can of chickpeas, drained
  • 1 14 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, drained
  • curry powder
  • ground red pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • olive oil

1. Heat oil to high heat in a large, deep saute pan. Cook onions for a few minutes, until they are translucent.
2. Put chickpeas in the pain and then mix curry paste with it, stirring for a few minutes.
3. Add tomatoes, a few dashes of curry powder for a little bit more heat, ground red pepper for more heat and mix well.
4. Add water and simmer the mixture for about 25 minutes.
5. Serve chickpea curry hot with white rice (or brown, if you want to be healthier).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

