Skip to content

featured friends, pt. 3 – meet sarah!

November 20, 2010

I have to say that I’m blessed to know a lot of strong, amazing women. One of them is my sister-in-law Sarah – not only is she family (her husband is my husband’s brother) but she is also a friend. Unfortunately she lives in Washington state so we don’t get to see each other often but the times that I have gotten to spend with her, I’m really thankful for. Sarah is a great example to me – a loving mother (to three ADORABLE children, my nieces & nephew), a devoted wife, very hard-working, creative and fun. She’s also a fantastic photographer and has a strong passion for Christ. She’s the one who introduced me to kale chips (my life has been forever changed), risotto and endive. Every time I’m around her, I learn something new! Here she is, in our new installment of FEATURED FRIENDS . . .

1. first name and what do you do?
My name is Sarah and I am raising my three young children in the heart of the city of Seattle.

2. what do you do to relax and unwind from the busy-ness of life?
Drink wine with my husband!

3. name a movie that you like and why.
I am geeking out on Simon Schama’s art series right now. It is a BBC production that profiles 8 or 9 nine famous artist. Very well done.

4. what are some of your favorite foods to eat?
I have a real soft spot for home made pasta with simple sauces (brown butter and sage, bruised tomatoes and basil).

5. do you like to cook? if yes, what do you like to make? if no, what do you do about meals?
Yes I like to cook but I do get bored every now and again with having to cook so much. My preference is to cook whatever is in season, so right now I am doing braised meats, squashes, roasted root veg and soups. When I don’t want to cook, Trader Joe’s always has something to fill in the gaps.

(SIDE NOTE – they have a Trader Joe’s!!!! Jealous. There, I said it.)

6. any fun kitchen/meal/grocery tips?
If you are a mom and you have other people in your house who want to eat something besides cereal, you are going to have to cook sometimes. I have learned to love it, mainly because I really like to eat. But I realize it is not every woman’s cup of tea. Learn some short cuts. Buy prepped veggies, pre-washed salad and rotisserie chickens from the grocery store. But don’t stress out about it. Your kids will not remember that you didn’t wash the lettuce yourself. They will remember if you were cranky all the time though.

7. what’s a recipe you’d like to share?
I love my crock pot, which is very un-gourmet, but it works for me. I made a killer Asian pork this weekend and basically all I did was dump everything into the CP and  walk away. Served with coconut rice, and some scallions and cilantro garnish, it is a dish I could eat three nights in a row.

1/2 cup Soy Sauce
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1-2 tbsp Chili-Garlic sauce
1 tbsp fresh grated ginger
1 tsp Chinese five spice
2 1/2 lb pork shoulder (cubed)
1 medium head Bok Choy
Combine all ingredients in your crock pot (except bok choy) Cook on high for 4-5 hours. Skim off any fat and gently fold in sliced bok choy until warmed through. Serve with rice. Presto!

8. what’s an interesting fact about you?
Blah! interesting fact about me……..I have been to 24 countries…..does that count as interesting?

(Ummmm, yeah. That’s pretty interesting to me!)

Thanks for “stopping by”, Sarah! Friends, ’til next time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

