Skip to content

recipe: chicken fajitas

January 22, 2011

Friday night.
Franz Ferdinand.
Fajitas.

Yep, that was my exciting evening. No, really!

In all honesty, the work week had been a very busy and stressful one so I was ready to de-stress and chill at home with my husband. That and knowing I needed to rest up for a long run (9 miles) with my running class the next day were all the reasons I embraced and happily stayed at home. Gone are the days of staying up way too late into the wee hours of the morning. I start yawning at 9 PM! (Is this a sign I’m getting old? Only 6 more months until I turn 29, my last year before turning 30.)

Back to the point. My Friday night was complete. My husband, knowing that I needed to have enough energy to cook (no, he did not offer to do it but I didn’t mind at all – I love cooking), picked some music with a great tempo – to get my foot tapping and the knives slicing and fajita-making going on. The rest of the cooking & meal time, he played DJ – we listened to Franz Ferdinand (the whole album – perfect!), some Common (had to cut it short, his lyrics are a bit . . . explicit/questionable; at least the music was great) and as we ate our dinner, we listened to Celia Cruz. (Quite an eclectic playlist, huh? That’s my husband for you – he who owns everything from baroque music to Black Sabbath to Bjork to Wu Tang Clan to Creedence Cleerwater Revival to Royksopp to Joao Gilberto and I could go on and on how varied his musical taste is.)

For the fajitas, I used my mother-in-law’s recipe, slightly altered to my taste and to what I had in the fridge & pantry. Result? Fantastic fajitas with a kick, and pretty healthy, might I add. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! (Thanks, Barb!)

Chicken Fajitas (for 2, if you’re not up to sharing)

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp canola oil (if you’re using a stainless steel pan; if using non-stick, just use 1 tbsp oil)
  • 1 medium yellow onion, sliced
  • 1/4 cup green onions, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 8 thin asparagus stalks, chopped into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt (next time, I will only use 1/2 tsp – we’re a low-sodium kind of family)
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper (WARNING – rant coming on. Do you know how hard it is to measure freshly ground black pepper?! Try aiming the grinder at a measuring spoon and you’ll know the trouble I had.¬† To solve this issue, I measured the salt first into a little bowl, then eyeballed the amount of pepper I was grinding into another bowl – voila! It’s not exact but I was close to getting the 1/2 tsp I wanted. Or, I could be easy on myself and use already ground black pepper but who wants to do that? Mmmm . . . I love freshly ground pepper.)
  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken tenderloins, sliced
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice¬† (you can use fresh or bottled)
  • fistful of cilantro, de-stemmed and roughly chopped
  • 4 flour tortillas

1. Heat oil in medium-high heat, using stainless steel pan. Add yellow onion, green onions, bell pepper, garlic, lemon juice, cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. Saute for 20-30 seconds.

2. Add sliced chicken pieces into the middle of the pan, then stir into the other ingredients. After 1 minute, add lemon juice. Cook for about 7-10 minutes, or until chicken is done.

3. Right before removing the fajitas from the pan, toss in cilantro. Mix well, and remove fajitas from heat. Serve on a tortilla. (We just ate it as is, no cheese, no sour cream, no guacamole but feel free to add your favorite fajita condiments.)

What do you usually do on a Friday night? Do you cook a meal at home or go out to eat at a restaurant?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

