Skip to content

recipe: salted chocolate chip cookies, or another reason why I run.

February 5, 2011

In a previous post (beet & chevre cheesecake), I clearly state I am not a baker, and that this is a good thing. I don’t have patience to follow all the directions of a baking recipe and don’t want to have to wait for the baked good to be done. This is a good thing!

Less baking = less baked goods = less calories = I can fit into my jeans.

But, because we’ve been iced & snowed in, I had the itch to bake. The other day, I pulled out a cookbook and found a chocolate chip cookie recipe. Looked easy enough and since it was a restaurant cookbook, I thought the cookie would be amazing. It was pretty good, but nothing to rave about. Maybe it’s my baking skills or the recipe, but the cookie is not special enough to post here.

(Though, we did eat almost all the cookies.)

Today, I had the itch to bake another batch of cookies, because I was not that satisfied with the batch I made the other day. Where do I turn to? Of course, the interwebs. I googled “best chocolate chip cookie recipe”. There are a lot of people out there who claim to have the best chocolate chip cookie recipe. I happen to think my friend Melanie has the best chocolate chip cookie recipe – I would have made this but I didn’t have the recipe!

So, I found a recipe from allrecipes.com, where people review each recipe and add their suggestions and comments. I found one that had great reviews and figured, why not?

Ohmygoodness.

These may not be the BEST but they were FANTASTIC. I mean, really really really great. I think this will be my go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe from now on. (Unless Melanie decides to give me her recipe, then I’ll have to do a post about that one. And unless you think you have the best chocolate chip cookie recipe – and if you do, I certainly wouldn’t mind trying it out. Hehe.)

Salted Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from allrecipes.com)

  • 2 sticks butter, softened (equaling 1 cup)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 3 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp hot water
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 3/4 cups dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees if using dark cookie sheet. (Otherwise preheat to 350 degrees.)

2. Cream butter and both sugars in a large bowl, using wooden spoon, until smooth.

3. Add 1 egg at a time to sugar mixture and mix well. Add vanilla and almond extracts. Mix well.

4. Dissolve baking soda in hot water, then add to batter.

5. Add salt, flour, chocolate chips and walnuts to batter and mix well, using hands instead of spoon if need be.

6. Cover dark cookie sheet with parchment paper. Add cookie dough by dropping 1-inch roughly shaped balls onto the cookie sheet, about an inch & a half apart from each other.

7. Bake for 14-15 minutes at 325 degrees. At the 7-minute mark, sprinkle a little coarse kosher salt on tops of each cookie. Continue baking.

8. Once cookies are done (edges are beginning to brown), remove from oven and let cookies rest on the cookie sheet for 1 minute. Then place cookies on a cooling rack.

9. Eat warm or eat cooled. Either way, ENJOY!

(note – My husband does not have the sweet tooth like I do. In fact, he really doesn’t like overly sweet things. By using dark chocolate chips and adding sea salt to the tops of the cookies, he’s able to enjoy a wonderful cookie that isn’t overpoweringly sweet.)

Sigh . . . this is another reason why I run and train for a half marathon. So I can enjoy delicious cookies.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristy Caver permalink
    February 7, 2011 3:40 am

    Made these tonight. Very good, although I overdid the almond extract. I liked them cool and just barely browned. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

