Skip to content

omelet success!

July 2, 2011

For years, the success of making an omelet has eluded me. Until today. Today, I conquered the omelet. Without turning it into scrambled eggs, thankyouverymuch.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I enjoy making a “big” breakfast for us on weekend mornings, usually Saturdays. During the week, my husband and I just nosh on bran cereal and milk, or toast. Nothing “fancy” at all because we’re trying to rush out the door to get to work on time. Well today, I made two omelets to go with a special coffee treat – one of my husband’s co-workers got us a pack of Kona coffee beans from his vacation in Hawaii. Um, heaven in a cup! (On a side note, for you milk & sugar coffee drinkers, you really need to try drinking it black to fully taste the coffee bean’s complexities. Not all coffee is the same! Some are slightly acidic, some have fruity undertones, some are bold. My husband and I think it’s pretty neat to taste the nuances in different coffee roasts. Drinking coffee black is an acquired taste, but once you have it, you can’t go back!)

Anyway,because of my previous unsuccessful atttempts at making an omelet, I knew I needed guidance. One of the blogs I read, Healthy Tipping Point, the author Caitlin wrote about her method of making an omelet so I gave it a try today (slightly modified, though). Thank you, Caitlin!

(hubby’s mighty-looking omelet, the first one that I made this morning)

Here’s what I did today, to make the husband’s omelet:

1. Beat 5 medium eggs in a bowl (I used 4 for mine). Add a bit of salt & savory.

2. Coat a large nonstick pan (I used my 12-inch nonstick ECOLIFE fry pan, which I absolutely love) – with cooking spray. Heat to medium.

3. When the pan is nice and hot, pour the eggs in the middle of the pan, then swirl it to spread the eggs into a circle, like this:

4. Cook the eggs for about a minute or so.

5. Put your veggies on one side and seasonings on the other (I used spinach and parmesan cheese). Cook for another 2 minutes, then lift the edge (with a nonstick spatula) to see if the underside of the omelet is cooked thoroughly (slightly browned).

6. Next, flip the cheese side of the omelet onto the veggie side and cook for a minute.

(I had rotated the pan so that’s why this picture makes it look like I flipped the veggie side in. Make sure you flip the cheese side instead of the veggie side first.)

7. After cooking that side for a minute, carefully flip it again so the cheese side gets cooked, for another minute. When it’s done cooking, transfer to a plate and enjoy!

(note – I get scared of undercooked foods, so before I flipped the omelet to be on the cheese side, I poked a few holes in it with a fork, to make sure the inside of the omelet gets cooked for sure. You don’t have to do this, but I did just for added safety, hehe. I think the omelet would have been fine even if I didn’t do that part.)

Here’s a picture of what the inside of the omelet looks like:


Next time, I’ll be throwing some mushrooms, bell peppers and crumbled bacon into that baby!

EDIT – so, apparently, there is an “easy” method of making omelettes (especially, several at a time) – by putting the eggs & veggies in a zip loc bag, then boiling that bag for 13 minutes in a huge pot of water. This method creates a perfect omelet without the mess. While the idea sounds really neat and wonderful if you need to make a lot of omelets for a group of people, it does make me a bit nervous because of the whole plastic in boiling water thing. I looked on Zip Loc’s website and they do state here that the bags are not made to withstand extreme heat (though many people do this method and it works for them). More so than this, I get nervous of the chemicals of these bags. I’m not a scientist by any means, but I just don’t think it’s safe – who knows what kind of toxins are leaching out of the bag and INTO your omelet. Call me paranoid, but I just want to be safe. I think there are zip top-type bags out there that are made to withstand high heat, or getting cooked in the microwave. Those might be better than the regular kind. But I am not sure since I haven’t tried this method with any type of zip top-type bag.

If you are a reader and you’ve done this and you are fine and healthy, more power to you. I just prefer not to do this, again for the sole reason of toxins that could possibly leach out into my food. Besides, I’m totally old-school and love learning basic cooking methods (and I have so much more to learn!).

End safety rant. Have a wonderful day/afternoon/evening eating your omelet, whichever way you make it :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 6:46 pm

    perfecting an omelet is tough! way to go girl. Now its all about consisitency, right?
    hehe.

    • July 5, 2011 1:36 pm

      thanks! yep, you are right about that, consistency is key :) now I gotta go make more omelets!

  2. July 6, 2011 1:57 pm

    I would love to make an omelet. I have never tried, so these instructions will be great!

    We love Kona coffee and first fell in love with it when we brought some home from Hawaii a few years ago. Since then, we have not found that same taste, even with the kona blends here, which is only like 10% beans from Kona.. Also, I am one of those who puts some milk and sugar, but my husband loves it black.. and learned to drink it black with that Kona coffee.

    We loved the coffee and the city so much, we named our dog Kona!

Trackbacks

  1. omelet love. «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

