Skip to content

mmmm, snack.

August 16, 2011

This post is about two things.

FIRST, I have to tell you about this blog that I like to read. Every time I read it, it makes me smile. No, the blog author is not paying me to write this. She doesn’t even know that I exist. But I’m a faithful reader of Can You Stay For Dinner. You see, this blog has beautiful pictures of food. And when I read about said food that Andie makes, it’s like reading poetry. Seriously! Plus her life story is inspiring (she’s writing a book, can’t wait to read it one day!). You should check out her blog.

SECONDLY, because of Andie’s blog, I know have a new favorite snack. Buffalo chicken rolls! So easy to make and simply delicious. I’ve made them a couple of times already, first as “eggrolls” and then as wontons. Andie, thank you for this great idea! Just as how I said you should read her blog, you should make these. Like, now. You won’t regret it!

Click here for the original recipe, but when I made these, I just poached 3-4 chicken tenderloins in the microwave, let it cool and then shredded it. Then, I added Texas Pete’s hot sauce to taste (I love my food spicy!). To build my eggroll or wonton, I put a small bit of blue cheese dressing on the wrapper, then added shredded broccoli slaw (which also includes cauliflower & carrots) and topped it with the shredded chicken. Wrap it up nice and tight, then spray each roll or wonton with cooking spray and bake it in the oven til it’s nice and crispy. Easy, right? Both times I’ve made these, they get snapped up quickly. They’re just that good.

Don’t these look great? I love eating this dipped in blue cheese dressing. Yum.

On another note, while the weather here continues to be blazing hot, fall is just right around the corner – school starts next week! My work load has begun to pile up, slowly but surely. That’s okay – makes for a busy day that flies by fast. I’ve already met new students and have chatted with returning ones, familiar faces in the halls. One of the perks of my job – getting to to know the students. Some of them have even become good friends of mine.

Summer is definitely coming to a close and our busy schedule is winding down. Thank goodness for that! My husband and I had a very busy summer but it was fun nonetheless. But now, with the fall semester starting, our schedule somehow slows down a bit while work is busy. I’m okay with that. Onto cooler weather! Sweaters and hoodies and scarves! Leaves changing colors! Okay, that doesn’t really happen in Texas. The leaves just go from green to brown. Yuck. But anyways, homecoming parade! Football games! Ha, scratch that. I’m not a big football fan. Actually, I hate the sport but along with football is marching band season, which I love. The college that I work for has an amazing marching band – actually touted as the best marching band in the U.S. by one magazine. I can’t wait to hear them play but that will require me to attend a football game or two. I think I’m okay with that, considering our university just finished building a new football stadium. I’ll go just to see the new stadium AND to hear the band. Football schmoofball. :-)

On a completely different note, my husband and I are finally just getting on the “Band of Brothers” bandwagon. Why did we wait so long?! Some good friends of ours lent us their copy of the whole series and we’ve started watching it. We’re on episode #4 now and it’s just so good. If you’re not familiar with “Band of Brothers” it’s a miniseries set in World War Two, following the battles of a specific company of soldiers, the E company or “Easy” company as they’re referred to in the DVDs. If you’re not into war movies, then you probably won’t like this but I’ve always been interested in history, specifically that time period of the second world war. My late maternal grandfather was also a WWII soldier in the Philippine army and survived the infamous Bataan death march. I actually own a coffee table book about WWII, I’m that fascinated with it (but I’m fascinated with history period! 80% of the DVDs we own are period pieces). Anyways, “Band of Brothers” is very well done but it’s quite graphic so if you can’t handle war violence, don’t watch this. Oddly enough, I can handle watching most of it, just turning my head once in a while when I see an explosion happening (knowing someone is about to get blown to pieces). Bleeecchh.

And to feed the love I have for history, I’m currently reading a series of novels based on the industrial times in the United States, called “The Belles of Lowell”. I’m on book #2. Can I tell you something, though? I tend to judge a book by its cover. I like to go to the public library and walk up and down the fiction section, looking at the book spines, to see if it’s well-designed. If a book is on display, even better. These books have really cheesy covers so I almost passed them over until on a whim, I read the back of one of them. Historical fiction and I was hooked! It’s called “The Belles of Lowell” because each book focuses on a young woman’s struggles and adventures as she navigates life during the industrial revolution. I love it. It makes me just want to read more and more and more. Alas, I have to sleep sometime, hehe.

What about you? Anything you’re on a “kick” on right now? Like a new favorite food, new favorite movie or TV show or new favorite book?

Until next time :-) Hope you are all doing well!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. holly j. permalink
    August 17, 2011 4:17 am

    What a nice blog you have here, lil’ lady! I can’t really describe this as a “kick” (since I’ve been enjoying it for a pretty long time now)…nonetheless, raw almond butter spread on toast with cinnamon, and a little agave nectar is one of my favorite things to eat. You should give it a try! ;-)

  2. August 17, 2011 5:18 pm

    Thanks for sharing another great food blog. I have extra wonton wrappers I need to use and I had no idea what else to do with them. Perfect!

    I have a bunch of WWII spy movies in my Netflix cue that I’m slowly working through. I’m not sure I would go for the violence in Band of Brothers, though it does sound interesting. I’m fascinated with WWII era history, but I lean more toward espionage storylines.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

