Skip to content

recipe: double chocolate banana muffins.

February 19, 2012

SEE ADDED NOTE – http://thecookinglife.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/clarification/

I know I’ve been a slacker as of late regarding food posts. I thank you for your patience with me! But have I got a muffin recipe for you . . . these muffins are so good I HAD to post about it, right away! (And okay, they may not be the healthiest but, they’re still yummy. Live a little, right?)

It’s Sunday morning. I woke, went to the living room to feed our cat Rina and opened the curtains and blinds. I saw a backyard filled with fog. Kind of eerie but a bit fitting, I suppose, considering it rained all day and night last night. As soon as kitty cat was fed and loved on, I got down to work.

Two ripe bananas had been staring at me all week, taunting me. As we all know, I only like bananas when they’re at a certain stage, mainly tart but slightly sweet. After they go past that stage, my palate does not like them anymore. Pretty much, I gag when I taste sweet bananas (read this post). But banana bread or the like, mmmmm, so good.

Off to internetland I went and found two recipes that caught my fancy. Below is sort of a combination of both (or at least, mainly one recipe and an idea from the other).

Double chocolate banana muffins (slightly adapted from Grace’s Sweet Life)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour (I used “King Arthur Flour” – I’m wondering if this helped make a difference in the texture of the muffins)
  • 1/2 cup all natural, unprocessed wheat bran flakes
  • 2/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 regular sized ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, melted
  • ¼ cup 1 % milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ¾ cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Prepare your muffin pans with paper liners if you choose. (I just used my big muffin tin, for 12 muffins, no liners needed.)

2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, wheat bran, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cocoa powder together.

3. In a smaller bowl, mix the bananas, egg, melted butter, milk and vanilla.

4. Pour the wet mixture into the flour mixture and stir to combine. Try not to overmix.

5. Add the chocolate chips and again, stir to combine.

6. Using a large spoon, fill each muffin cup at about 3/4 full. Place the muffin pan in your oven, with the shortest end of the pan facing you. Bake for 14 minutes.

7. After the 14-minute mark, rotate the pan in the opposite direction. Bake for 8-9 minutes. Using a toothpick or a fork, insert it into the middle of a muffin. If it comes out clean, your muffins are done.

Ohmyword. That’s exactly what I said out loud, folks. (Our cat may have looked at me like I was crazy.) As soon as I took my first bite of this wonderful muffin, I was floored that I actually baked something this good. Thanks to Grace’s Sweet Life! (I really don’t take stock in my baking skills. Even if I’m following a recipe, I don’t always produce the best baked goods – I blame it on my impatience. I really consider myself to be more of a cook, where you can just kind of toss things together and don’t have to be precise, unlike baking where measurements and stirring the right amounts are key! So anytime I bake something good, I am amazed and thankful.) The muffin was fluffy but with enough density that it wasn’t mushy, if that makes any sense. And the top had a slight crunch to it. For a texture person like me, I loved it! Oh, it was so good, with the right amount of sweetness. I’m glad I didn’t change the amount of sugar because I think this muffin is perfect. Who knows, maybe I’ll experiment with it later on but for now, I am going to enjoy my SECOND double chocolate banana muffin with a hot mug of herbal tea, while I listen to some music that is good for my soul and faith, and while my husband is still sleeping.

He better wake up soon. These muffins are too good to wait on!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2012 6:04 pm

    Those look awesome. I’ve never made a banana muffin I don’t think – I shall have to remedy that!

  2. February 28, 2012 3:14 pm

    Yum! I like how the weather/look of outside motivates you to make things. I get that way when my kitchen is clean, I feel like I can cook everything.

    I WILL make these this week. I am very different when it comes to banana’s. I actually like them darker. I will put a banana in my purse so that it will bruise some. Weird I know.

    But with that said, it keeps me from making stuff with ripe bananas because I eat them at this stage.

    Thanks of sharing this recipe.

Trackbacks

  1. clarification. «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

