Skip to content

omelet love.

March 8, 2012

Remember the omelet I mentioned yesterday? Ohmyword, it was so good.

You see, I had lunch with a good friend on Monday. We decided on IHOP because it was near campus and we both wanted to eat breakfast (after all, breakfast can be eaten any time of day, in my opinion). However, instead of my usual fare at IHOP (I almost always order the swedish pancakes with hashbrowns, eggs and bacon), I decided on something healthier (from the IHOP website):

SIMPLE & FIT Omelettes
Our SIMPLE & FIT omelettes are made with egg substitute and served with seasonal fresh fruit.
photo credit here
I got the SIMPLE & FIT Spinach, Mushroom & Tomato Omelette (With fresh spinach, mushrooms, onions and Swiss cheese. Topped with diced tomatoes. 330 Calories).
I definitely have come a long way – I actually enjoyed the taste of the raw tomatoes that topped my omelet (omelet, omelette, whichever one). That’s a big deal for me, considering I used to not eat raw tomatoes.
Ever since Monday’s lunch, I have not stopped thinking about this omelet (maybe it’s the pregnancy craving??) so I made it for dinner last night. My omelet didn’t turn out as pretty as Bon Appetit’s omelet below or IHOP’s omelet:
photo credit here
But you know what? It was equally as delicious and way cheaper. Had two slices of wheat toast with Smart Balance butter. My omelet (made with farm-fresh eggs) had slightly cooked spinach, browned mushrooms and some shredded pizza cheese (eh, what can you do if that’s what you have on hand?) and my husband’s omelet was a bit fancier – his had sauteed onions & diced green bell pepper, a little bit of savory, spinach, mushrooms and cheese. Both were topped with diced tomatoes.
Does that omelet not look amazing? It tasted amazing to me. My husband praised my cooking as he enjoyed his. We were both happy campers last night.
My omelet cooking method can still use some improvement and that’s okay. I just can’t wait to make this again.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 7:27 pm

    It is very hard to beat a good omelette.

  2. March 17, 2012 5:02 pm

    oh yes, omelets are my go to dinners and they are delicious. Even if they aren’t pretty. hehe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

