Skip to content

blog fail and a plan.

July 17, 2012

So yeah. Blog challenge? I failed. Though it’s a fun idea, I’m afraid my new mom status hinders me from blogging regularly nowadays. I’m currently juggling working from home (trying to find 8 hours throughout the day to work on the computer) while taking care of a 3-month-old baby while keeping the house in order while trying to feed us decently healthy meals. Whew! But instead of being negative, I’ll just give you DAY 17 – post seven random facts about yourself.

1. I am okay stomping down little cockroaches but tiny (as well as big) lizards give me the worst heebie-jeebies! I mean, I really don’t like them. I don’t like to get near them, I don’t want our cat bringing them into the house. They’re just gross.

2. I lived in Ireland for 5 weeks in the summer of 2002.

3. While I like to eat healthy, you have to understand that fried chicken is probably my most favorite food item. Ever.

4. I am thirty years old and have only had 2 cavities in my life.

5. I don’t have a career, but I love my job as an administrative assistant at a large university. Working with students can be really fun and rewarding!

6. I can eat rice every single day. But I don’t do this because that’s a whole lotta carbs.

7. I don’t wear makeup, unless it’s for a special occasion.

On another note, I have to come up with a plan. You see, I go back to the office on Monday, July 30th. Back to busyness. Head first into the chaos of the fall semester. I’ll be working 40 hours a week, as is the usual for full-time employees. I’ve done this before, for many years. But with a baby? Nope, never, uh-uh. I am swimming in unchartered territory. Gotta come up with a plan so we don’t end up eating frozen pizza every single night!

Here’s what I’m thinking:

Monday nights – salads

Tuesday nights – cook one of my go-to recipes

Wednesday nights – omelets

Thursday nights – rice/couscous/barley & vegetable bowls

Friday nights – family night (dinner will probably be salads from Wendy’s or Chick Fil A)

Saturday lunch/dinner – follow a recipe; make some freezer meals

Sunday lunch/dinner – eat leftovers or cook a new recipe

With four nights set, that just leaves me with 3 dinners and 2 lunches I have to figure out. I don’t think it’ll be that hard to come up with some healthy and tasty to eat. I hope. We’ll see how this goes!

What about you, my friends? Any one in the same boat as me and have to come up with a meal plan?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2012 4:33 pm

    Ok, back when I was a working full-time mom out of the home (instead of in the home), I had themed nights. Mexican, Italian, American, etc. That way I could keep the “basics” stocked in my pantry for these nights. (Taco seasoning, black beans, pasta, flour, yeast, chili powder, etc.) So then, I would say Tuesday is Mexican night. Then I would just decide as I got closer which meat I wanted, or vegetables to add. It can be fun as you can check out different regional recipes and seasonal veggies to match the meal. Anyways, there’s my two cents!!

  2. July 18, 2012 1:21 am

    1) I love that you just jumped into the middle of the challenge even though you missed days
    2) Best of luck returning to work! It looks like you’ve got a great plan!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

