Skip to content

Tea for two and two for tea?

April 10, 2009

A cuppa (British for a cup of tea).

img_6540

I remember seeing my parents drink tea when I was little. I would see the steam coming up from the cup and take in the scent. Back then, I wasn’t too fond of anything besides hot cocoa and juice so the closest to tea that I got was restaurant iced tea, which was pretty nasty more often than not. Either too sweet or too bland. So I stayed away from the drink, either hot or cold.

When I was 17 years old, I went to Ireland with my church youth group for a mission trip/spiritual retreat of sorts. There, I had hot tea for the first time. How the Irish drink their tea is similar (I think) to how the British drink theirs: with cream or milk and sugar. Pretty sweet, but very good. I began changing my mind about tea.

The next time I drank hot tea was on another mission trip, in China. There I was served hot green tea – complete with loose leaves swirling around the little cup. This was the first time I drank herbal tea straight up. Quite strong, let me tell you (and after drinking it daily every day for two and a half weeks, it seemed to get stronger). My affinity for tea was definitely growing.

Fast forward to today. My husband shares my likeness for tea, so we drink it quite often especially during the winter. On any given day, you can see various kinds of tea in our household pantry: Twinings Earl Grey and Prince of Wales, chai, green tea, lemon zinger, honey/lemon and PG Tips. Won’t you have a cuppa with me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kim permalink
    April 13, 2009 1:08 pm

    oohhh count me in! one of my favs is tazo’s cranberry blueberry or something funky like that! mmmmm delicious! have a wonderful day my friend. 😀

  2. May 6, 2009 11:08 am

    I’m staying w/ some Australian’s in Cambodia right now and they offered me “a cuppa” and i had NO clue what they were talking about!!! =)

Leave a Reply

