Skip to content

I really do like mornings.

May 18, 2009

As much as I am known to love my sleep, I really do like mornings. When I can see my husband getting ready for his day, with a smile on his face and a true desire to serve the Lord. When I can just sit at the table with a hot mug of fresh coffee and a treat of Dutch stroopwafel. When I can enjoy the cool morning breeze and not yet have to fight with the coming day’s heat and humidity. When I can only see a small handful of cars in the parking lot, only one other soul or two walking around campus. When I can still see the dew on the grass as I walk to my office. When I can hear the birds chirping all around me, singing their morning songs to each other. When I can hear silence outside and in the halls. When I can speak so softly to my God who listens and knows the depths of my heart.

I really do like mornings.

I am thankful for the fact that it is a new day, to start anew, a do-over of sorts. When I am given the chance to choose how my attitude will be, no matter how busy the morning is or how chaotic things may get. When I am given a sense of rejuvination and peace. When I am given joy despite the worries and checklists and duties of preceding days and nights. When I can acknowledge that it is a day I am given by my Creator. When I get the opportunity and gift again to serve and love my King.

How can I help but like the mornings?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rach permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:36 pm

    LOVE this!

  2. kim permalink
    May 19, 2009 3:30 pm

    😀 that made me smile. i am so thankful for you!

  3. stephaniedyarphotography permalink
    May 23, 2009 5:50 am

    i’m the SAME way!!! i would rather sleep than ANYTHING. but get me up in the early morning, wait about 10 minutes, and i’m the happiest i’ve Ever been! there IS something magical about a quiet early morning!
    but boy, its HARD to get out of that bed!!!

Leave a Reply

