Skip to content

more cooking adventures.

June 3, 2009

My friend E and I used to joke around about how we need to acquire wife points before we were married – i.e., learning how to cook and be all “domestic” (the point system was kind of like in “Whose Line Is It Anyway?” British version, where they award points that really don’t mean anything). We’d laugh and give each other a high five everytime either one of us baked something or cooked a meal.  I figured, since I’m my dad’s daughter, surely there are good cooking genes in me.  Thanks to a loving husband who will eat anything and lots of trial and error, I’ve found myself more “domesticated” than ever, exploring my cooking genes and kicking it into high gear in the kitchen.  Here are some of the things I’ve made recently:

IMG_6817IMG_6818

IMG_6819IMG_6820

We had our good friends, A and M, over for a Mediterranean feast: zatar bread with feta, hummus, tzatziki sauce, my own recipe of marinated chicken with mushrooms and onions and fragrant basmati rice. The chicken was a bit too salty for my taste – note: when using a sea salt grinder, make sure the device is secure and the bottom won’t come off! That’s what happened, which resulted in a lot more salt in the marinade. However, everyone else seemed to like the chicken!

IMG_6821

IMG_6823

If you know me real well, you know that I almost always have a hankering for some good, Southern fried cooking. Alas, such food is not good for my arteries so I’ve been trying to make this kind of food in a healthy way other than frying everything. Thanks to this website, I found a great recipe for baked chicken tenders (note to self: cut the butter in half!). I added some pan fried rosemary potatoes in evoo and turnip greens. It was a hit in the Hurt household.

IMG_6833

To top everything off, I made an apple tart. By far one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever tried! Kudos to the Pioneer Woman. This is such a simple recipe, no trouble to make at all. (I couldn’t find any big apples at the grocery store, so for these two tarts, I used 2 gala apples; also, I don’t own a sifter so the sprinkled powdered sugar isn’t as pretty as the Pioneer Woman’s.)

IMG_6835IMG_6847

IMG_6848IMG_6851

Until next time!

One Comment leave one →
  1. kim permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:05 pm

    i want to participate!!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

