Skip to content

summer cooking, part one.

August 17, 2009

Despite my short blogging hiatus, I kept right on cooking (to feed my husband and I’s stomachs). Overall, I was pleased with the different recipes I tried. Here you go!

Pic3Pic4

My own version of Grilled Lime Chicken with Black Bean Salsa (click here). Unfortunately, we don’t own a real grill so I had to make do with the George Foreman countertop version. I didn’t like the looks of the chicken (and it didn’t seem to be cooking how I wanted it to) so I transferred it to a saute pan and finished it there. Served with wild rice. Not bad, and I’m willing to try this one again to make it better.

Pic11Pic10

Herbed balsamic chicken (click here) – very flavorful. The original recipe calls for blue cheese to accompany the chicken, but I could tell that the seasonings would be enough. Blue cheese (along with other cheeses) tend to be salty so I skipped it, along with the 2 tbsp of salt for the marinade. The recipe also calls for herbes de provence, so I made a batch (sans lavender flowers – who the heck would have these in their kitchen?).  Again served with wild rice.

Pic16Pic15

This next dish is becoming a staple in our household. I got the idea from my sister-in-law when we were in Seattle this summer. She made her own garlic herb butter, and served it along asparagus and wild rice. I don’t have a set recipe for my own herb butter. For 2 servings on salmon, I used 2 tbsp melted butter and mixed my favorite herbs with it. I seasoned the salmon fillets with fresh ground pepper and kosher salt, then topped each fillet with the herb butter mixture. Baked until the salmon flaked off with a fork. Served alongside sauteed spinach with some extra virgin olive oil, garlic and a little lemon juice. One of my favorite parts about this meal? Roasted asparagus – baked for about 10 minutes (you can also broil it for a few minutes), sprinkled with more evoo, pepper and kosher salt. Wonderful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

