Skip to content

keen-wah, among other things.

September 27, 2009

So, the fall semester started off with a bang! Working 40+ hours at the beginning of the semester to insure all registration issues were taken care of, taking two grad classes and all that entails, plus life in general, started taking its toll on me. Long story short, there was a bit of unrest in my heart, I was exhausted, and not doing my best in different areas of my life. After discussions with my husband, prayer, and a lot of self-examination regarding my motives/goals, I decided to drop the harder of the two classes I was taking (why the heck did I register for a difficult elective? I blame it on a brain fart). The past week has given me a little bit more “freedom” in my time and I feel loads lighter. More importantly? I feel at my peace with decision and more ready to tackle what’s ahead of me.

With said “freedom” in my time (i.e. a little less homework to do), I decided to catch you all up on my cooking “adventures”. I don’t think being a food stylist is my calling, because by the time the food is cooked, I’m ready to scarf it down – but thankfully I’ve grabbed the camera to document what I just made. They aren’t the prettiest pictures but they’ll suffice for all intents and purposes.

Sep2Sep3

(left) “Greek-style” chicken – marinated in olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and different herbs; (right) tabbouleh – mix bought from the store, made with fresh diced tomatoes and cucumbers.

Sep4Sep5

(left) homemade “tzaziki” sauce – my own version; (right) falafels – mix bought from store – with sliced cucumbers, spinach and tzaziki sauce in a whole-wheat pita.

Sep11Sep14

(left) Capellini with shrimp and creamy tomato sauce, recipe found here; (right) fettucine noodles with same kind of sauce and chicken instead; I like the original shrimp recipe better.

Sep13Sep12

(left) marinade for chicken; (right) finished product – turmeric chicken (don’t you love the color?), with different herbs and spices, sauteed with onions and mushrooms (can you tell how much I love mushrooms?).

Sep15Sep16Sep17

(first) some ingredients; (second) mixing rolled oats with unsweetened coconut; (third) more ingredients – wheat berries and chopped hazelnuts.

Sep18Sep20Sep19

(first) more ingredients – ground flaxseed, cinnamon and salt; (second) nutmeg and sugar-free syrup; (third) mixing it all together.

Sep21Sep22Sep23

(first) everything in a baking pan; (second) granola and yogurt, with chocolate chips; (third) finished product.

Sep7

Another quick dinner idea: wild rice, sauteed mushrooms, sauteed spinach (with some lemon juice and toasted pine nuts) and broiled chicken/marinated artichoke hearts – the latter, an idea I got from a friend of mine. Love this meal! So fast and simple.

Sep8Sep9Sep10

And this morning’s breakfast: my new favorite ingredient, quinoa (i.e. keen-wah). I ate mine with Smart Balance butter and blackberry jelly, coffee on the side.

Email me if you want recipes for any of these!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kim permalink
    September 27, 2009 11:21 pm

    how about all of them! 😀 i can’t wait to taste your cooking! how is it that this has yet to happen??? maybe a girls night where we just cook. mmmm sounds great!

  2. Savannah permalink
    October 21, 2009 4:30 am

    I. Love. Granola! It’s too expensive to buy but I can never make myself try to make it from scratch. I’ll try your recipe sometime soon!

Trackbacks

  1. recipe: granola bars. « one day and one meal at a time . . .
  2. recipe: stir-fried quinoa with vegetables « one day and one meal at a time . . .

Leave a Reply

