Skip to content

winding down.

October 12, 2009

I love Sunday evenings. Time at church, conversations with friends in the lobby, receiving and giving much-needed hugs. Sunday evening dinner (my husband and I scarfing down Wingstop wings and sugary/salty fries – quite healthy and budget-conscious, huh?) and winding down the day. I’m sitting here in my pajamas already, typing away and watching “Anne of Green Gables”. B’s in the other room, working on music. A good way to end the weekend. A nice way to start the new week.

The last 72 hours have moved so quickly. Dealing with the passing of an uncle, being with my family and mourning with them. Going about my normal routine, while trying to make sense of some questions. Calling my parents every so often just to hear their voices on the other line. Getting together with old and new friends over pints of beer and BBQ. Catching up on schoolwork and blogging. Relaxing and spending time with my husband. Trying new recipes and thankfully not failing at my attempts.

I don’t have too much to say tonight. Processing, thinking, praying. I’ll end on a stomach-satisfying note:

IMG_0380IMG_0379

I got a hankering for hotcakes (the Filippino version of pancakes) after I tasted some that a relative had made. I scoured the internet for a recipe and found one that seemed appropriate. However, the recipe called for evaporated milk and I only had 2% milk – I think that may have made the difference. The hotcakes ended up having a crepe-like consistency. Nonetheless, B and I enjoyed these hotcakes late Saturday morning and ate them with sliced bananas and pecan bits, downed with our favorite 8 O’Clock Coffee.

abababababababababIMG_0382abababababababa

One of our favorite things to eat is Panera Bread’s creamy tomato soup. I found a “copycat” recipe online and applied some modifications (3 cups of milk instead of 4, and added one can of tomato paste). Not too bad for a first try, but I’ll definitely make a few more changes next time around (will half the amount for baking soda, and will probably only use 2 cups of milk). I enjoyed a small bowl of soup late this afternoon, the creaminess topped with asiago bread croutons (sliced some bread in pieces and baked it in the oven).

Have a wonderful new week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

