Skip to content

creative inspiration.

October 20, 2009

I’ve never really thought of myself as a “creative” type. It’s hard for me to pull ideas out of thin air and make something out of nothing. I don’t think abstractly nor can I create abstract things. I don’t consider myself artsy or crafty at all.

I don’t know if people are inherently creative or not. But I think aspects of creativity can be learned, shaped and embraced. Living in a little hippie, university town has helped in this process. I have friends who I consider true creatives, poets and artists and musicians in their own right. They’ve become wonderful influences for me, helping me to step out of my ordinary box, helping me get over my fear of creating and helping me to find my own voice. I think I’m still looking for that voice but I’m further along in my creative process than two years ago.

For starters, I’ve formed my own photography business (along with the throngs of photographers that live in the metroplex . . . can we say, competition?!) and have enjoyed capturing images of people and things, giving it all my own twist and style. Showing others how I view life, through my lens. I’m slowly collaborating with my husband on his music projects, using my photographs and his music as a fusion of sorts. In my cooking, I’m deviating from recipes and adding my own touches to each dish, even attempting to make meals with no formulas to follow other than kitchen basics.

My point? After living for three years in an 800-square foot home (plus continuing to live in said box for another two years), I decided to change things around in our apartment. Sifting, sorting, rummaging, getting rid of unnecessary things. Moving furniture around, changing curtain colors, removing clutter. I bought a sewing machine so I can learn to make my own curtains and decorative pillowcases. I’m using splashes of color here and there to add brightness and light in our tiny living room, in the hope of making it look bigger. I’ve still got such a long way to go, but I figure, why not use the next two years or so to stretch my creative muscles before we get a house (with more square footage to organize and decorate)? I have been inspired.

By who?

Young House Love – an amazingly talented couple who tackle DIY projects around their beautiful home. They’re funny, creative and very knowledgeable.

Apartment Therapy – yes, exactly that for us apartment-dwellers, giving us hope and color for a brighter tomorrow in our rental digs.

Living with Lindsay – a new find; easy-to-do DIY projects.

Making This Home – another new find – DIY and organizational topics.

Real Simple – a wonderful online and print resource for DIY ideas, recipes, organization, shopping tips and more.

And a couple of shout-outs to some friends:

Creatively Replicated – creating and re-creating fabulousness!

Chadwell Chronicles – blogging about being first-time homeowners and their adventures at remodeling and finances.

I will post about my apartment “remodel” in the coming months, but if you’ve got any organizational and decorating tips, send them my way!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 11:21 pm

    yay for apartment redecorating! thanks for posting the links (as i’m currently looking for inspiration). i can’t wait to see your update!!!!

  2. October 20, 2009 11:51 pm

    Wahoo! Thanks so much for the shout out. Good luck sprucing up your space!

    xo,
    Sherry (& John)

Leave a Reply

