Skip to content

recipe: my own version of capellini pomodoro.

October 22, 2009

As my husband continues to heal from his dental surgery, I’ve had to think long and hard about what other soft foods to feed him other than oatmeal, applesauce and pudding. One day, I made him some baked salmon with refried black beans seasoned with a little bit of lime juice (this was a new find in a can, bought at our local grocery store). Just recently for our date night, I decided to make one of Bryan’s favorite dishes (he first tried this at Olive Garden) – capellini pomodoro. I thought, how hard could it be? Its ingredients were tomatoes, garlic, basil and pasta. However, before I jumped the gun on this new meal, I went online to look for “copycat” recipes just to make sure I wasn’t going to create something too difficult for me. I was right – it’s pretty basic. I was excited to try this, because it would be a pretty soft meal for my husband to eat and it would give me the chance to eat tomatoes (for some reason, I don’t like eating uncooked or nearly cooked tomatoes . . . odd, I know; however, I can eat salsa all day, use ketchup for my fries and burgers and can guzzle tomato soup by the gallon).

new1

Ingredients:

  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped (next time, I’ll be using 4)
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • approx. 1 tbsp of minced garlic (next time, I’ll use more!)
  • 7 fresh basil leaves, torn into small pieces
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • kosher salt
  • half a box of angel hair pasta (capellini)
  • fresh parmesan cheese

1. Cook pasta according to box directions. Drain and set aside in a bowl.
2. Put enough evoo in a small sautee pan and heat until the oil starts to shimmer.
3. Add minced garlic and cook, but not browned (burnt garlic doesn’t taste good).
4. Add chopped tomatoes and cook for about a minute (make sure the tomatoes don’t lose their shape and get mushy).
5. Quickly add some basil leaves to the mixture.
6. Remove from heat, add a pinch or two of kosher salt and some pepper (do this according to taste; I don’t like my dishes too salty but that’s just me and my mother, the dialysis technician’s influence on me).
7. Add tomato mixture to cooked pasta. Top with remaining basil leaves and fresh parmesan shredded with a microplane grater (you must have one of these!). Serve immediately, with foccacia bread.
Serves 2.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 4:26 pm

    Hey here’s another recipe I’ve really liked with angel hair pasta. I normally mix some minced meat in it.

    http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/vermicelli/

    Ash

  2. October 22, 2009 4:28 pm

    Thanks, Ash! I’ll have to try this. I love Simply Recipes 🙂 And I didn’t know you had a blog! I’ll have to put the link on my personal blog, then I’ll comment.

  3. October 27, 2009 7:50 pm

    Sure!

Leave a Reply

