Skip to content

recipe: hotcakes.

November 1, 2009

I don’t usually crave pancakes but a couple of weekends ago, I got a hankering for them. Specifically, the true Filipino version – what we call “hotcakes”.  I had found one recipe but was not happy with the results; they were tasty but not like the kind I used to eat when I was a young girl. I could have asked my parents, but they are not the kind of cooks who keep recipes. Rather, they cook by taste.

My hotcake craving got the best of me and I scoured the Internet for a genuine recipe. Alas, I found the perfect one! (cannot find link, so will post it later)

IMG_0399IMG_0402

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 and 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup melted, unsalted butter

1. Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in one bowl.
2. In another bowl, beat the eggs with the melted butter and buttermilk.
3. Slowly pour the egg mixture into the dry ingredients, and mix, taking care not to make the mixture too smooth. (some small lumps are good)
4. Heat non-stick skillet (or griddle) and add some butter. Pour enough batter into the hot skillet to make a circle (maybe 1/3 cup batter?); cook it like you would a normal pancake.

This hotcake has a slight sweetness, so eating it with syrup is not necessary. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

