Skip to content

recipe: pan-fried chicken with mustard sauce.

November 1, 2009

While I was meal-planning and doing the usual thing of perusing the internet for recipes to try, I came across this Martha Stewart dish – pan-fried chicken with mustard sauce.  I made it for dinner one night and I will be adding this to my recipe box! So simple, yet so good. I’ll note my modifications below, in parentheses. We ate this with wild rice and roasted asparagus (and seeing as how we eat asparagus a lot, I decided to post how I roast this vegetable – see the end of the post).

Pan-fried Chicken with Mustard Sauce
Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts (I used 6 chicken tenderloin pieces, which what I had in the freezer)
  • 1 tsp ground thyme
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • salt and pepper (I use kosher salt & freshly cracked black pepper)
  • 2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 cup of chicken stock
  • 3 tbsp Dijon mustard (I used what I had in the fridge, 2 tbsp of stone ground mustard)
  • 3 tbsp sour cream (I used 2 tbsp instead)

1. Season chicken with thyme, lemon juice, salt and pepper.
2. Heat non-stick pan with evoo, on medium-high heat.
3. When the oil barely starts to shimmer, add the seasoned chicken and cook until done (or browned).
4. Once the chicken is done, remove them from the pan and set on a plate, covering it with foil.
5. Turn up the heat to high, and add chicken stock and mustard to the same pan, whisking to combine the ingredients. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer for 3 minutes.
6. Then, whisk in the sour cream until the mixture slightly thickens (about 2 minutes).
7. Serve the sauce with chicken.

IMG_0429IMG_0431

Roasted Asparagus
Ingredients

  • 1 stalk of asparagus
  • kosher salt
  • freshly cracked black pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil

1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
2. Trim each asparagus, about an inch from the bottom. Discard the bottom parts of the asparagus.
3. Put a small bit of olive oil on a non-stick pan, and roll the asparagus around in the oil.
4. Season with salt and pepper.
5. Cook in oven for about 5 minutes or so until the asparagus starts browning just a little bit (at least, that’s how I like my asparagus! sometimes I even broil it).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

