Skip to content

recipe: granola bars.

November 16, 2009

We love granola around here, eaten by itself and washed down with coffee or crushed up and in yogurt. We usually buy granola, in individual packets, boxed up, from the store. However, I’ve taken to making my own granola after being inspired by my sister-in-law Sarah. Because we eat it so much, I wondered about making our own granola bars. After searching online for a good recipe, I found one here, on Smitten Kitchen (what a wonderful website!). Of course, I made my own modifications and made do with what I had. The end product? I was very pleased with the results. I don’t think I’ll be buying the boxed kind anymore. Why do that when I can make my own, and know exactly what is going in them?

IMG_0708IMG_0712

Ingredients (adapted from the Smitten Kitchen recipe, see link above)

  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup shredded coconut, unsweetened
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup milled flax seed
  • 1/2 cup unprocessed wheat bran
  • 2/3 cup honey (plus half of a 1/3 cup)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup craisins
  • 1/2 cup raisins

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a 9×13 glass dish with foil (and coated with some cooking spray), set aside.
2. Put the oats, coconut and sesame seeds in a baking sheet and cook in the oven for about 7 minutes, until lightly browned. Check it every so often and stir, so nothing burns.
3. When the oat mixture is done, remove from the oven; lower the heat to 300 degrees. Put the oat mixture in a bowl. Mix in the wheat germ, milled flax seed and wheat bran – stir well.
4. Then, while the oat mixture is still warm, add the honey (add more if you think the mixture is still a bit dry), vanilla and salt. Mix well.
5. Add the dried fruit and mix well.
6. After everything is coated with the honey, pour the mixture in the baking dish and pat firmly into the dish with your fingers or a spatula. Pat it as tightly as possible.
7. Put the dish back in the oven and cook for 20 to 25 minutes.
8. Cool for about an hour and a half (the original recipe said 2-3 hours, but I was too impatient, hehe), then use a serrated knife to cut the granola into bars.
9. Wrap each bar in plastic wrap.

According to Smitten Kitchen, these granola bars will keep for about a week stored in an air-tight container, at room temperature or longer, frozen . We still have 3 more store-bought granola bars to eat, so I put my individually-wrapped homemade bars in the freezer for now. I’m so glad I found this recipe and excited to make more in the future!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

