Skip to content

recipe: palitaw.

November 16, 2009

A dessert I ate growing up is called palitaw. Since I’ve been recently trying to expand my Filipino food repertoire, I searched online for a recipe – found one here. Now, rice flour (and specifically, sweet rice flour that my mom would use) can only be found in Asian grocery stores. However, we have a small organic-type of grocery store that I suspected would have such a flour. Lo and behold, they did – white rice flour and brown rice flour. The brown rice flour was on sale so that’s what I got. Now, with most of my recipes, I post the ingredients and step-by-step process. However, this dessert was a bit tricky to make (and quite messy, too) so I’m not sure how often I’ll make it. Here’s the recipe, halved from the original I found online.

IMG_0706

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups brown rice flour
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • half of 1/3 cup of sesame seeds, toasted
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup coconut
  • 4 cups water for boiling

1. Toast the sesame seeds in a dry pan, for about 30 seconds or so, in medium high heat. Set aside in a bowl and cool. Once cooled, add the sugar.
2. Put the coconut in a shallow plate and set aside.
3. In a bowl, mix 1 1/2 cups of water and the rice flour together. (It seemed too wet so I added a bit more flour to remove the wetness.)
4. Put the 4 cups of water in pot and boil.
5. When the water is boiling, take a teaspoon of the rice flour mixture, roll into a ball, then flatten into a patty. Drop carefully into the boiling water and cook for about 20 seconds or so (very trial and error for me as I examined the cooked patties). The patty should float to the top when it’s done (I had to just guess-timate mine – didn’t really float all the way to the top; I think it’s because I used brown rice flour).
6. Coat the patty immediately with the shredded coconut. To serve, top with the sugar and sesame seed mixture.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

