Skip to content

recipe: shrimp tacos.

November 16, 2009

There is a restaurant in my town that serves amazing tacos. Whenever we go there, I get the seafood kind, complete with their special garlic sauce, cilantro and crumbled feta cheese. So different, yet so good!

I made my own version of said seafood tacos, with shrimp. Nothing too fancy but it completely satisfied my appetite (plus my husband enjoyed them too!). One thing to note, the frozen shrimp that I got was small and it shrank as I cooked it – note to self, get bigger shrimp next time. (Also, I tried coating the shrimp with panko crumbs but they did not adhere very well and fell off into the pan. However, I liked the taste of the toasted panko crumbs that so I included it in the taco.) We ate this with potatoes sauteed in a bit of olive oil and kosher salt. So for a quick and tasty dinner, check it out . . .

IMG_0641

Ingredients

  • 1 cup small shrimp (thawed, peeled and deveined)
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • kosher salt
  • 4 white corn tortillas
  • crumbled feta cheese
  • 3 tbsp sour cream
  • 4-5 tbsp tomatillo salsa (All Natural Frontera brand)
  • cilantro leaves

(directions modified without panko crumbs)
1. Soak the shrimp in the milk, then sprinkle with kosher salt.
2. Heat some olive oil in a pan, about medium heat and cook the shrimp (drained of the milk first) for a few minutes until the shrimp is about pink and opaque.
3. Set aside shrimp and make the sauce.
4. Combine the sour cream and tomatillo salsa in a bowl (add more of each, if you want), then put it in the fridge to cool for about 15 minutes.
5. To make a taco, heat up one corn tortilla in a pan or microwave. Put the shrimp on the tortilla, then layer with the sauce, cilantro leaves and feta cheese. (When we ate this, I forgot to add the shredded lettuce, so add whatever other veggies you want to the taco.)

I will make this again, with shrimp and different kinds of fish like tilapia or salmon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 4:05 am

    I love Fuzzys! We live right next to them and I can’t get enough of these tacos… when I figure out how to make that awesome garlic sauce… I will have you over and we will make our own tacos…. seriously.

Leave a Reply

