Skip to content

fish and chips: a love story

March 5, 2010

courtesy of The Angry Friar

The first time I had fish and chips, it was in the west coast of Ireland (Galway, to be specific) at McDonagh’s Fish and Chip Bar. A small meal I would never forget. A love that was born.

There are a few other places where I’ve tasted this delicacy (well, to me it is!) – in Seattle at a small shop in Pike’s Market and at Ivar’s Fish Bar by the water. In my university town of Denton, there is an “English pub” of sorts that sell fish and chips. Every time I eat the greasy goodness, I smile a big smile. Ahhhhhh. Satisfaction.

Anyways, back to the story. To the point of my trip down memory lane.

Tonight, I was walking out of my linguistics class, going along my merry way in the crisp evening when I stumbled upon a glorious sight . . .

A green, double-decker bus.

A green, double-decker bus called the Angry Friar.

It was as if there was a “hallelujah” chorus singing in the background as my eyes glazed over. My heart skipped a beat as I smelled the scents that my heart holds a special place for. (Yes, I admit I’m a bit of a drama queen.)

Authentic fish and chips, served by an authentic Brit! The Angry Friar is run by David Wilson, who operates out of an environmentally-friendly bus, retrofitted to be a small “restaurant” (i.e. fish fryer). They serve fish, chips (or fries, as Americans would call them), fishcakes and soda. Good prices, good food.

I think tonight, I fell in love with fish and chips all over again. I mean, come on – I’m stuck in the middle of North Texas where British authenticity is definitely lacking . . . except for a green, double-decker bus owned by a nice British gentleman. Land-locked as I may be, I might as well enjoy my fish battered and deep-fried, doused with malt vinegar and wrapped up in newspaper.

For more information on The Angry Friar, visit their Facebook Fan Page here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Savannah Montier permalink
    March 5, 2010 5:32 am

    I’ve seen that bus before and always wanted to eat there!

  2. April 10, 2010 11:33 pm

    I love fish and chips too 🙂 What’s the bus thing about?

  3. April 12, 2010 1:28 pm

    Ash, they sell the fish and chips right on the bus! 🙂 It’s great. The bus has a big fryer.

Leave a Reply

