Skip to content

featured friends, pt 1 – meet annalee!

August 24, 2010

“Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all.” – Harriet Van Horne

I really like this quote, as I’ve seen my love for cooking grow over the last several years. And cooking food for people I love? Even better.

However, as you’ll see me write here time and again, I am not a perfect cook. I have so much more to learn! Thankfully, I’ve been blessed to know some pretty amazing women who have shared their cooking knowledge with me. From recipes to tips (and just plain ‘ol fashioned good advice), I feel better prepared now to tackle a menu and cook for a group of people than I have in years past.

My point? Because I’ve benefited from my friends’ know-how in the kitchen, I want to introduce to you to some of them over the next several weeks – old and new friends who have made an impact on me, in one form or fashion. You’ll see below just how fun and life-giving they are, to their families and friends. And in the kitchen? They’ve got their own style and flair, and some good food to share to the world.

Introducing a “FEATURED FRIEND”. . . Annalee from “Out on a Whim“!

With her daughter, Adelaide

I’ve actually never met Annalee (I promise, I’m not a creeper, people!).Β  Through the use of the magical world wide web and on my search for fun blogs, I found Annalee’s via other people’s blogs. As I started looking through it, I realized that she was married to Evan, who was in the same political science group I was in at Abilene Christian University, the school I attended for my freshman year of college. I immediately got hooked by how creative she has made her blog. Lo and behold, I’ve been reading it since.

What’s “Out on a Whim” about? You’ll just have to visit it yourself, but I can tell you, it’s a wonderful smorgasbord of stories about her family and friends (and her genuine love for them), her faith, tried and true recipes she uses to feed her family of 4, household ideas and plain, fun, whimsical anecdotes. Annalee, without ever meeting me, has been kind enough to be our first “guest blogger” for FEATURED FRIENDS. Maybe we’ll get to meet one day but until then, I’ll continue to read her blog and glean knowledge from a fellow foodie.

(If you haven’t noticed by now, I’m kind of long-winded . . . forgive me. So here she is!)

1. Who are you and what do you do?

my name is annalee.
i’m a stay-at-home mom to our kiddos (2.5 years and 9 months).
i’ve had some other jobs that i really liked a lot,
such as kindergarten teacher, camp counselor, nanny, and snow cone maker,
but i can honestly say i am currently in my favorite profession of all.

2. What do you do to relax and unwind from the busy-ness of life?

most nights from about 9-11 my husband and i join our dog on the couch.
evan watches tv or works,
and i make lists, blog, browse catalogs, play words with friends, and interrupt him.
while he eats a late night snack of yogurt,
i munch on a bowl of cereal or sip on a mugful of hot cocoa.

3. Name a movie that you like and why.

the original parent trap with haley mills
it is my all-time favorite because it combines two things i absolutely love-
summer camp and twins.

4. What are some of your favorite foods to eat?

i love berries,
grilled vegetables.
dough of any kind,
black pepper chips,
and any dessert topped with sprinkles.

(sprinkles!!! can I get an “amen”?!)

5. Do you like to cook? If yes, what do you like to make? If no, what do you do about meals?

sometimes i cook because i truly just enjoy the act of it.
sometimes i cook as a creative outlet.
sometimes i cook with the motivation of saving money or knowing exactly what my family is eating.
sometimes i cook because i enjoy hosting others.
and sometimes i quite honestly just want to go out-to-eat.

6. Any fun/useful kitchen, meal or grocery tips?

make a menu.
doing this each week saves me time, energy, and money.
and when we have the ingredients and recipe ready to go we are much more likely to eat at home.

7. What’s a recipe you’d like to share?

“poppin’ fresh bbq cups” or more affectionately known as “meat cupcakes” at our house,
was one of the very first recipes i shared on my blog in february 2008.
http://annaleeper.blogspot.com/2008/02/meat-cupcakes.html

POPPIN’ FRESH BARBECUE CUPS (aka – MEAT CUPCAKES)

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 LB. GROUND BEEF
1/2 C KETCHUP
1 T MUSTARD
2 T BROWN SUGAR
1 T MINCED ONION (optional)
1 CAN BISCUITS
1/4 C SHREDDED CHEESE

DIRECTIONS:

PREHEAT OVEN TO 400 DEGREES.
BROWN THE BEEF AND DRAIN.
MIX KETCHUP, MUSTARD, AND BROWN SUGAR TOGETHER TO MAKE A BARBECUE SAUCE.
ADD THE SAUCE TO THE BEEF AND ONION IF DESIRED.
SEPARATE DOUGH INTO BISCUITS.
FORM DOUGH INTO CUPS ON THE MUFFIN TINS.
SPOON THE MEAT INTO THE DOUGH CUPS.
BAKE AT 400 DEGREES FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES
(OR UNTIL THE BISCUIT DOUGH LOOKS DONE).
SPRINKLE THE TOPS WITH CHEESE.
AND DINNER IS SERVED!

(I will definitely have to try this!)

8. What’s an interesting fact about you?

my taste buds have definitely changed after two pregnancies.
i no longer like chinese food.
i now like salty stuff almost as much as sweet treats.
i now like beef.

And . . . that’s Annalee! Hopefully I will have her back here again to share some more fun stuff with you. Give her some love over at “Out on a Whim“!

H8TNQ93MAAMJ

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 12:36 pm

    Annalee is a friend of mine, and she really is as cute as she looks and as her blog looks! I’ve used some of her posted recipes and I love them!

  2. August 26, 2010 7:59 pm

    We love Annalee and Evan, and meat cupcakes became a family favorite after their original debut on her blog! Give them a try you will NOT be disappointed.

  3. August 29, 2010 12:43 pm

    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog! I had to stop by yours, too, and I love it! Too bad I don’t still live in Texas. Brittnye thinks we’d get along well. Based on your self-description in your About section, it does look like we have a lot in common! Except my husband is a picky eater, so baked goods are the only thing I know will go over well with him πŸ˜‰ It’s a challenge to make healthy dinners that he will eat with me. I can’t wait to try some of your recipes, though!

  4. August 31, 2010 3:39 am

    Annalee is legit!!! She is as real and cute and fun as her blog. I went to high school with her and we have remained friends. And her and Evan make the cutest kids ever…these kids should be in commercials, you know!

  5. September 1, 2010 7:37 pm

    Love your blog! Subscribed so I can easily come back to retrieve more recipes. I love to cook…and eat!!
    Blessings,
    Amanda

  6. September 8, 2010 2:03 pm

    Thanks for commenting, Amber!
    Abbe – I will be trying these meat cupcakes out, definitely πŸ™‚
    Hi Therese, I bet we would get along great, too! Thanks for your inspiring blog!
    Stephanie – yes – their kids are precious!
    Hi Amanda, thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

