Skip to content

useful tips.

September 2, 2010

Hello, friends! Sorry I’ve been lacking here on my blog. Life has just been so busy (and unfortunately, tiring) so my blogging has been put on the backburner, so to speak. You see, I work at the university in the college town that I live in, and our fall semester just started. My job is an administrative assistant to two different divisions in the music college, and with this particular time of the season, our work piles up and I’m literally in bed by 9:30 at night!

That to say, I’ve still managed to cook and stick to my meal-plan. Thankfully, I usually made enough food for left-overs so there’s been a few meals I haven’t had to cook (plus, with the long work days, my husband and I treated ourselves to some Panera Bread – yum!). Tonight, though, I’ll be in the kitchen, cooking up some fried chickpeas with meatballs & kale. Sounds odd? I even think so but I’m excited to try this.

In the meantime, let me leave you with some pretty decent articles that I hope will be useful to you (they’re quite useful to me!):

(image from here)

I’ll be the first to raise my hand – sometimes I waste food in the fridge because I’ve forgotten about an item and not sure if I can use it past its expiration date!

(image from here)

I’m not the biggest red meat eater, but I love a mean burger. I usually just buy already-seasoned patties from the store, but this article has me inspired to make burgers from scratch!

(image from here)

I hate, hate, hate being wasteful (and like I said above, I sometimes am), so I love learning new ways to make the most out of household items I already have.

That’s all for now, but I’ll be back! Hope you have had a wonderful week.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ash permalink
    September 2, 2010 7:22 pm

    This is a great post Michelle! I was aware of the expiration date article, and have been very careful about grocery shopping so I don’t end up buying a lot of things I won’t finish by myself in a week or two, if they’re perishable.

    Also, this is a great recipe for a burger – http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/herbed_turkey_burger/

    Turkey meat is much leaner and healthier. I follow this blog a lot and am quite pleased with all the results. Also, she gives these little tips that help you understand the nuances of cooking. For eg., never knew overworking the meat while making a burger patty can make the burger tough.

  2. September 9, 2010 2:48 am

    Thanks, Ash! Yeah, I follow that blog too – it’s wonderful! While I do agree that turkey meat is healthier, sometimes extra lean beef can be as healthy. Sometimes, that beef taste is JUST necessary! 🙂

  3. November 5, 2010 5:46 pm

    Hi! I’m a new reader (and fellow cooking enthusiast/working wife), but I thought I’d share one of my favorite condiments for burgers: hummus. I read a recipe once that suggested using it instead of ketchup or mustard. It was pretty good, I have to say, if you’ve got it in the fridge. This is especially fun when you’ve just had a cookout and already bought the hummus as an appetizer. Thanks for sharing this blog with the world. I look forward to reading more.

  4. November 12, 2010 9:07 pm

    Hi Erin, thanks for stopping by! Sorry it’s taken me a while to reply. I love hummus but I never thought to use it on a burger – will definitely have to try that! Keep reading, I should have more posts soon!

Leave a Reply

