Skip to content

let’s save some moolah!

October 28, 2010

I am all about saving money so when I read the title of this article, I was definitely intrigued. Save $2,997 a year on food? YES PLEASE! I did read the entire thing and the tips in it made perfect sense. We already do most everything on the list but I know we could be better with our eating/spending habits. Anyways, here is the article (click on the link below). I hope you find it as useful as I do.

6 ways to save $2,997 a year on food

PS – for any of my readers out there, I’ll re-iterate the article’s question . . . “what are YOUR most innovative ways to save money on food?” I would love to hear from you!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 2:33 pm

    I’m so encouraged by this article, as we are doing almost everything on the list. My husband is allergic to tuna, but we do use canned salmon. We add a little ranch dressing to a can of salmon (and some HG garlic lemon seasoning) and it makes a WONDERFUL dip for veggies or crackers! In the summer, we eat fresh salads every night with produce from my husband’s garden. I use the slow cooker all the time, as we have our HG “Smoosh” meals; I even have a party once a month for my customers where we make 6 “Smoosh” meals for them to put in their freezers to pull out and cook in the crock pot at their leisure. I DO purchase the Crock Pot bags because they make clean up so easy. I personally can’t stand traditional pizza, but I use our HG bread mixes to make the crust (Roasted Onion being my favorite:) and put cut up leftover HG meatballs, a little tomato sauce and cheese for a quick pizza. (Most of us love “supreme” with onions and assorted colors of bell peppers). Jim takes his lunch every day (mostly salads:) so that’s fun. I’ve been making Smoothies with our fruit that is going to the dark side. Now that it is apple season and we are in Apple Heaven (Washington state) I buy 20 pound boxes of them at substantial savings for snacking. HoneyCrisp and Tsugaru are favorites. I didn’t even know there were so many varieties of apples!! I used to think there were only the 2 “Delicious” ones, but those don’t even taste that great compared to all the different kinds up here!

    • October 28, 2010 4:02 pm

      So, can I just say how jealous I am that you live in WA? πŸ˜‰ Thank you for the tips, Betty! I have a fantastic crockpot that I probably only use twice a year. I need to use it more often! Do you have any soup or chicken recipes that utilize the crockpot? Also, I love that you have your parties to make frozen meals to put into the crockpot!

  2. Vanessa permalink
    October 28, 2010 2:39 pm

    Hi Michelle!
    We have leftover night once a week on the night before trash day. Whatever is in the fridge as a leftover gets put on the table for dinner. Whatever doesn’t get eaten goes into the trash. Also we make Ensalada Russa a couple times a month which is simply a can of tuna mixed with a hard boiled egg, any crunchy veggies we have in the fridge like forzen corn, celery, bell pepper, tomatoes and always some thinly sliced/chopped onion. Then it’s mixed with oil and red wine vinegar and then a small dollop of may. Salt and pepper to taste. It’s pretty healthy and makes a meal out of things you probabaly have in stock but is always a little different because you don’t always throw the exact same veggies in. Enjoy your thrifty cooking adventures!

  3. Vanessa permalink
    October 28, 2010 2:46 pm

    Ugh! Typos galore. I’m doing this on my phone and it’s a mess. Ensalada rusa. One ‘s’. Mayo and frozen corn really stick out. :-/ Again, enjoy!

    • October 28, 2010 4:04 pm

      Thank you, Vanessa! That ensalada rusa sounds good! Maybe I can use canned salmon b/c my husband doesn’t really like canned tuna (though I love it!). And I like your leftover night idea πŸ™‚ You know, I am so bad at forgetting leftovers in the fridge. Then, the tupperware looks scary b/c of strange things growing inside it. I end up putting the tupperware in the freezer, then once the “thing” is frozen, I pop it out and into a plastic bag, which goes in the trash. That way, I won’t gag from the sight OR smell of the rotten leftover!

      • Vanessa permalink
        October 28, 2010 4:48 pm

        You acn put whatever you want in the salad. In some places it must have potatoes in it. Some places put tons of mayo. It’s whatever you guys like. Also with leftover night it’s a nice mental break one night a week. We don’t worry about how much is left or if there’s enough of something for two. We just heat it up and share what we want. We’ve also learned quite a bit about how best to reheat different things. Like I reheat pasta in a skillet with a little olive oil and tiny bit of chicken stock instead of in the microwave. Those are my tips. Eet smakelijk!

  4. Ash permalink
    October 28, 2010 2:49 pm

    Hey Michelle, I have found that saving on food wastage and packing lunches as indicated in the article are GREAT ways to save money. Last year I also limited my restaurant outings. This year I haven’t really paid attention to my grocery bill, but believe it or not, I used to have an appx $100-120 bill each month on groceries. So in a year I would spend $1200-$1400 on food. I need to go back to budgeting soon πŸ™‚

    • October 28, 2010 7:46 pm

      Thanks for the comments, Ash! I know one thing we can continually be better at – going out to eat! It’s been hard this past month b/c of house stuff but now that things are slowing down, I am ready to be cooking more regularly again! Good luck with YOUR budgeting πŸ™‚

  5. Melanie permalink
    October 28, 2010 3:14 pm

    I LOVE this topic. I am always looking for ways to cut back. We eat mostly vegetarian, with Adam around we never waste left overs, and rarely eat out, but I think we can do better. SO, I’m looking in to using more coupons. I was able to sign up for the Sunday Dallas Morning News paper for $8ish a month ( It’s a special they are running that’s only $2 a week!). I’m also trying to cook in bulk by taking one day to cook freezable items. Fall is a great time to eat soups and they freeze fabulously! Buying a whole chicken is inexpensive, so I can roast a chicken and get 3 meals out of it. I would like to take it to the next level but I don’t know what to do next. I’m going to focus on my new hobby – coupon collecting – and see where that leads me.

    • October 28, 2010 7:48 pm

      Melanie, me too! Thanks for your ideas. Plus – it made me laugh when you said with Adam, there’s never any leftovers, hehe. Maybe one of these days, we could join forces and cook some freezable items together? Let me know how couponing goes for you!

  6. Laura Grubbs permalink
    October 28, 2010 3:57 pm

    Hey Michelle:
    These are all really great tips that Smitty and I use all the time. Another great way to save money is by pairing coupons (I don’t even buy a paper anymore but rather just print them from my computer) and store deals. Last week I got 5 8-oz packages of light cream cheese for FREE as just one example. It is not uncommon for us to save $15 on a shopping trip on things we were going to buy anyway- bread, crackers, almond milk, cereal- you name it! We signed up for “Couponing 101” which is a local (in Dallas) free blog so all the deals are applicable to Denton and she does all the work for you- what is on sale, what coupons to use including links to the online ones that you can just print out, and usually even restaurant and retails deals.

    Another thing that we do is we plan out meals out ahead of time and try to make multiple meals that use the same ingredients. There is one recipe we make that uses corn tortillas so on weeks when I plan on making this, I ask Smitty if he wants to make his enchiladas so that we can use up the tortillas. I also use canned tomatos in anything that it might go well with (taco meat, spaghetti, casseroles, etc.) to make it go a little further. I bulk buy on items we use often when they go on sale (especially 8 oz. bags of shredded cheese).

    With these tips, we are not only able to make ends meet as two graduate students (paying tuition and not making much money) but we have been able to save a healthy amount for our future (moving expensive, a down payment on a house, emergency funds- whatever might come up).

    • October 29, 2010 8:15 pm

      Hi Laura! Thanks for the tip on Couponing 101. I haven’t ever been good at couponing so hopefully I can learn on this website! I’m like you about using ingredients. Like, I’ll buy a bunch of spinach and will try to use it for 2-3 meals/recipes. Glad you guys are able to save a good amount of money!

Leave a Reply

