Skip to content

Internet, I can’t live . . . with or without you.

November 20, 2010

Well, hello world! Yep it’s me.

As much as I would love to be perfect in blogging here, it’s not possible . . . I just don’t have that perfection.

Or, really, I don’t have internet access. Not at our new house, anyway. Acquiring a mortgage (and all that comes with it) have us halting extraneous spending, until we get settled in our monthly bills. That and it’s our way of sticking it to the man and raging against the machine and whathaveyou.  (Plus, we’re doing an experiment of sorts, seeing how we like not having internet at home and having less distractions around. But that’s another topic for another blog on another day.) So, I’ve resorted to buying a cheap cup of joe or tea every so often and use wi-fi at our local, neighborhood coffee shops. That explains my absence.

Back to the point . . . we have eaten, daily I promise! I’m so thankful for my new house, and its glorious kitchen. Granted, it’s not the kitchen of my dreams but it certainly is 100 steps above the little one-person kitchen we used to have at our apartment. I’d post a picture of the old kitchen here but I never took a picture of it . . . because there was no need to, it’s not even worth mentioning. (It was so small!)  So, on to the new kitchen.

There she is, in her 1985-style wood cabinets and wallpaper glory (by the way, that wallpaper is G.O.N.E gone and one day, I tell you, I will be redoing those cabinets!). Maybe it’s the novelty of having a house and a kitchen I can really function in but I’ve grown to love cooking more and more. In the last several weeks, I’ve made pulled pork BBQ sandwiches (ohmyworditsamazing!), tomato-almond pesto, pancit (Filipino-style glass noodles), Jamie Oliver’s milk-braised chicken, lentil-almond stir fry, vegetable fajitas, tinola (ginger-spinach-chicken soup), bistek (sliced beef marinated in soy sauce & lemon), margherita pizza and fruit-and-nut breakfast couscous. Whew!

And at this point, you’d be seeing oodles of pictures of said food and the recipes and descriptions, etc etc etc.

Sigh . . .

Alas, we shall not dwell on what we don’t have. Afterall, ’tis the season to be thankful! (though, I believe it’s always a good, good thing to be thankful, no matter what time of year it is)

With Thanksgiving just days away, I’ve noticed several of my friends posting on their Facebook walls things they are thankful for. I love that. It reminds us to take a look around, see what’s really there, instead of just pining away for what’s not. To see the blessings we’ve been given. I used to take note of such blessings, jotting them down on a scrap piece of paper or in an unfinished journal or typed in a Word document, just so I could shake myself out of whatever self-pity or crummy attitude I had and realize how MUCH I had been given. It’s good to remember that I am blessed, no matter what my circumstances are.

I can say with complete honesty that life is good, albeit its normal challenges, and that I sit here, next to my husband as he types away on his laptop, with a big smile on my face because I am thankful! Thankful for . . .

– pomegranate oolong tea. Mmmmm, it smells so good! Tastes pretty good, too.
– the public library in helping me with my obsession of reading, so I’m not spending money buying books that we don’t have room for. (My husband is very thankful also, ha!)
– Friday night date nights.
– knowing that I can challenge myself physically. I’m taking a half-marathon class right now, and we have class #3 tomorrow. The other night, we did a mile run test and I did the fastest mile I’ve ever done – in 8 minutes and 40 seconds! I know I can’t keep up that pace for 13.1 miles but I’m hoping that with proper training, my speed threshold will increase. Because I tell you, folks, I’m not a fast runner.
– my job. For the faculty & staff that I get to work with and the students I get to help.
– a husband who can make me laugh, every single day.
– friendships that are truly not affected by distance or time. That, even after periods of not seeing each other for a while, we can pick back up where we left off, like we haven’t missed a beat.

That’s it for now, though the list is long, I promise. (I’ll stop here because we all know how long-winded I can be!) On that note, what are you thankful for?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

