Skip to content

it’s December . . . already??

December 7, 2010

Wow, today marks the 7th day of December – the anniversary of the attack of Pearl Harbor, the second day of music juries week at the college I work at and the 14-day countdown until I go on Christmas vacation. What happened to Thanksgiving?

Alas, it was a busy yet festive time. While Thanksgiving was not a blink-and-you-miss-it holiday for me, the days that followed have been a blur. But let me take you back. Back to November 25 . . .

My husband and I were joined by his parents for a couple of days, and my parents, brother and sister-in-law joined us on Thanksgiving Day. We cooked late into the hours of November 24, getting up early to start on last-minute dishes (i.e. turkey – only the most important dish on Thanksgiving!) on the November 25. What a feast it was! Between my mother-in-law and I, we tackled and conquered the roast turkey, traditional stuffing, mashed potatoes, giblet gravy, rolls, pumpkin pie, bittersweet chocolate pecan pie, wild rice “stuffing”, garlic-sauteed green beans, brussels sprouts with buttered pecans and cranberry sauce. Then my family contributed a delicious honey-glazed ham, tres leches cupcakes and a Filipino dessert called casava cake. We laid out the feast on the countertop, buffet-style and ate, talked and laughed (complete with the parents sitting at one table and the kids sitting at another table – kinda funny, I thought!). That day marked my favorite Thanksgiving celebration yet, because almost all the people I loved the most sat there with me. I relished that day and was so grateful for my family and for so much more!

Yep – that leaves me with a few recipes to share with you. And I will! I promise! In the meantime, here are a few photos of that special day I snagged from my father-in-law . . .

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

