Skip to content

seattle, christmas and 2011??

January 5, 2011

Wait a second. 2010. Did I blink and miss it? Because it flew by so. FAST. Whew! What a year, a blessed year.

So here we are, in the fifth day of 2011. And yes, once again, I was silent in this bloggidy world but for good excuse! Okay, admittedly, the end of the semester – I work at a university – was a bit rough, but the end of December was fabulous. We were able to visit family in Seattle for Christmas and what an amazing trip it was.

(out on a walk with my husband)

(and for the obligatory Public Market on Pike Street picture; sorry it’s not the best quality. I was trying to walk, take a picture, dodge tourists AND avoid being shoved into traffic)

We fellowshipped with each other as a family and as the body of Christ, talked a lot, laughed a lot, walked a lot (my family there actually live in the city, like the within-5-minutes-walking-distance-from-downtown kind), ate a lot and did our fair share of imbibing good drink. Granted, I was sick for about 4 days, but still! With my family, we just can’t help but have fun. Plus, I can’t forget one of the most important things about the trip – loving on the kiddos! My nieces & nephew:

Anyway, since this IS a food blog, here are some pictures of scrumptious food that we ate:


(left – whooops, should have been faster on taking the picture. Alas, empty plates that once held delicious corn cakes.)
(right – a mushroom burger with red pepper aoli. And not JUST any mushroom burger – this is a mushroom burger from Elysian Brewery. Ohmyword.)


(octopus appetizer made by my sister-in-law’s sister Apryl & her husband Eric. my first time to try octopus. texture like calamari. tasted pretty good! the sauce was really good – olive oil, lemon, red pepper flakes and mint)


(agnolotti, made by Apryl & Eric – sort of like ravioli; stuffed with crab & sliced leeks, and covered with a lemon cream sauce)


(cioppino, again made by Apryl & Eric. can I just say they are FABULOUS cooks? this is a seafood stew of sorts, delicious. this had scallops, salmon, shrimp and either mussels or clams – sometimes, I still forget what each looks like!)

Trust me, more food was consumed than I had pictures. But for now, let this whet your appetite (no pun intended). I hope you had as good of a Christmas as I did!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alicia permalink
    January 5, 2011 3:30 pm

    ummm, YUM!!!!! It would seem as though I need to invite Apryl and Eric over to my house!! That pasta and cioppino look fabulous!!!

  2. January 5, 2011 7:47 pm

    Ooooooh, more reasons for me to get to Seattle immediately!

Trackbacks

  1. comfort food. «

Leave a Reply

