Skip to content

recipe: slow cooked asian-style pork

January 8, 2011

Yep. It was that good. That’s what we ate for dinner a couple of nights ago.

To reinforce just how good I think this dish is (especially since you use your crockpot!), here is the recipe, which I got from my sister-in-law Sarah (here as a FEATURED FRIEND):

Ingredients (tweaked according to what I had in stock)

  • 1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp sriracha sauce
  • 1 tbsp sweet chili sauce
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger (of course, fresh ginger is ALWAYS better)
  • 1 tsp Chinese five spice powder
  • 2.2 lb boneless pork tenderloin (which I got on sale, whoohoo!), cut up in cubes
  • 1 medium head bok choy (leaves cut from stalk and washed, torn to pieces)

1. Combine the first 5 ingredients in a small bowl.

2. Put the cubed pork in your crockpot, then pour the mixed sauce over the pork.

3. Cook on high for 4-5 hours.

4. Walk away from your kitchen because you’re using a crockpot and you can relax!

5. After the pork is done, skim off any fat and then gently fold in torn bok choy until warmed through.

Serve this with coconut rice and chopped cilantro sprinkled on top (which I didn’t have at the time). Note on coconut rice – you can google “coconut rice” and you’ll find an assortment of recipes. (I used my rice cooker; 2 cups of coconut milk and 2 cups of white rice. Then I kept having problems with my rice cooker turning off before the rice was done, and then I had to keep adding more water. I think the problem was with the coconut milk.)

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanessa permalink
    January 8, 2011 8:48 pm

    Looks great! I love using my crockpot. Anything that I can start and come back to hours later when it’s time to eat, moves way up on my list of good recipes. I’ll be trying this one soon!

  2. January 10, 2011 2:14 am

    Have you every made this recipe in the oven instead of a crockpot? I’m without one, but this of course looks so tasty. Will have to do some experimenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

