Skip to content

recipe: goat cheese & sun-dried tomato pizza

January 14, 2011

Okay, so life is busy. I know, I always say that, but it really is. I think life has not slowed down for me since August (i.e. the beginning of the fall semester) and I don’t think it will slow down until after spring break. Honestly, it’s rough and I have to juggle a lot on my plate (schedules, etc) but it’s doable. With grace for myself and from friends/family, lots and lots of prayers, and time management, it’s doable.

On that note, I haven’t had a chance to do any elaborate meals this week. Let’s just say it’s been a week of quick and easy meals. As much as I love fancy schmancy food, I’m all about whipping something up in the kitchen that will take 15 minutes of my time.

And that’s today’s recipe!  Goat cheese and sun-dried tomato pizza, all inspired by my good friend Alicia. Last weekend, we had a girls’ night while my husband was away on a gig. Our girls’ night consisted of cookies, brie & crackers, “Twilight” and “New Moon” (no shame here), pizza, wine and ice cream. (Thanks for stopping by, Courtney!)

(that’s Alicia, being shy. or, I think I was making her laugh here!)

(yeah. this pizza is fantastic. seriously.)

(mmmmm. enough said.)

Alicia introduced me to this simple yet scrumptious concoction (and the smoked sun-dried tomatoes – ahh, soo good!) and I haven’t turned back since. (And a shout-out here to my friend Sara, from Nomad With Cookies, who introduced me to the greatness that is goat cheese – thanks, Sara!) Like, I’ve made the pizza again, last night, for my husband and I’s dinner. Again, not only is it really good, but it’s easy and fast to make. (I had just gotten through running 4 1/2 sets of hill intervals with my running class and had no energy to cook anything elaborate. Thank goodness for pizza!)

Ingredients

  • already-made pizza crust (I used Kabuli Whole Wheat pizza crust)
  • jar of your favorite pesto (Classico is a great, cheaper brand)
  • baby spinach (with stems, or stems removed – your option)
  • smoked sun-dried tomatoes (julienned)
  • goat cheese
  • fresh parmesan cheese (not the kind in the plastic jar)
  • kosher salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

1. Preheat oven according to pizza crust directions.

2. Cover pizza crust with 2-3 HEAPING tablespoons of pesto. (I mean, come on. It’s pesto.)

3. Next, top pesto with lots and lots of spinach (when cooked,t he spinach will flatten), then crumble up goat cheese all over the pizza.

4. Sprinkle lightly with some salt and pepper (I went light on the salt but heavy on the pepper).

5. Top with sliced sun-dried tomatoes and freshly ground parmesan cheese (do you have a microplane grater? because if you don’t, you should.)

6. Cook pizza according to pizza crust directions.

How’s THAT for easy? Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 10:22 pm

    That looks DELICIOUS! I love goat cheese.

  2. January 20, 2011 3:41 pm

    Hi Michelle! Thanks for stopping by. This pizza IS delicious. 🙂 Glad we share this love of goat cheese!

Leave a Reply

