Skip to content

easy, easy like . . . wednesday night?

January 20, 2011

I know, the Lionel Richie/Commodores song “Easy Like Sunday Morning” is definitely cheesy but you have to admit it’s catchy. The tune has been stuck in my head the last 12 hours!

Easy.

What was easy about last night? A normal, typical Wednesday night for me? Immediately after work, I toted my gear and changed at the local recreation center, and got ready for my running class. I’m currently in the middle of training for my 3rd half marathon (the Dallas Rock n Roll Half in March). Wednesday nights mean speed work, which mean either mile repeats (ugggghhh), long intervals, or hill work – all done to help with our long runs on Saturday mornings. I have to admit, I grumble a lot during the Wed night class. Really grumble, ha!

Anyway, 5:30 PM came rolling around and there were only four of us women, plus our coach, so we did what was necessary – whined and complained and cajoled our coach into letting us do an easy, several-mile run instead of a hard speed workout. Alas, he agreed (thanks, coach!) and we were joined by two more people (guys, so coach wasn’t the only male running around with a small pack of females). It ended up being a very pleasant run, interspersed with conversation and laughter. We probably only did 2-3 miles (though my calves felt like it had been through an 8-mile run – why is that?!) but I’m glad we took it easy. After a long and busy day at work, an easy run was exactly what I needed.

After running, I figured, why not continue this trend of “easy”? Easy dinner? Yes, please!

(that’s me! in all my running/sweaty glory.)

So, what’s a girl to do when she’s got an hour to buy, prep and make food? Off I went to Kroger for some produce, then back home to prepare an easy dinner that my husband and I would enjoy. I had read rather quickly on a website a while back, about putting pesto on salmon. I love pesto. I love salmon. This was a no-brainer, especially since I already had both ingredients at home. Dinner tonight? Baked salmon with pesto and smoked sun-dried tomatoes (I’m telling you . . . I’m obsessed with this stuff!), roasted asparagus and whole wheat penne on the side.

It was all so easy to make – I drizzled some olive oil in a pan and put the rinsed asparagus on it, sprinkling heavily with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, and put the pan on the top rack. Then I drizzled more olive oil in a baking dish, put two pieces of thawed salmon on it, slathered 2-3 heaping tablespoons of pesto on both, then topped it with chopped sun-dried tomatoes. I placed the baking dish on the bottom rack, had the oven at 400 degrees F, cooked the asparagus for 10 minutes and the salmon for 15 minutes. While that stuff was cooking, I boiled some water and cooked the penne. And I did all of this while trying to avoid stepping on our crazy/sweet/psychotic kitty who was running around the kitchen & living room.

(my wonderfully messy kitchen and our sweet little kitty)

Mmmm, salmon. Seriously. Super easy. And pretty darn good!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda permalink
    January 20, 2011 7:25 pm

    Sounds great! Speaking of Salmon, do you buy it frozen or fresh?

  2. January 20, 2011 8:07 pm

    It was really good – the husband liked it a lot! I wish I could buy it fresh, but I usually just buy it frozen, wild-caught.

  3. February 1, 2011 8:27 pm

    I am totally going to try this. I love salmon and pesto, but never thought of putting them together! And my husband is really tired of the way I make salmon!

Leave a Reply

