Skip to content

icemageddon? snowpocalypse?

February 4, 2011

Okay, it’s not that bad, not compared to other parts of the country. Please don’t hear me complaining – I’m not! It’s just a bit odd when the state you live in is not really adequately prepared for an ice/snow storm. Texas does not own a lot of snow plows. Our university campus has run out of material that melts the ice on our roads. People don’t know how to drive on ice. Us Texans just aren’t used to these types of conditions.

Suffice to say I’ve been enjoying my 4 days off work. You read that right. FOUR. DAYS. I’ve lived in my town since 2002 and we’ve had our share of snow but never where the campus has been shut down for four straight days.

Wait, I take that back. We officially got a phone call that the campus is also shut down for Saturday classes tomorrow. Weird!

Knowing from the forecast that we would have a huge possibility of an ice storm, my husband and I made a trip to the grocery store on Sunday night. So glad we did that. Monday came and went, normal day at work and we ended up spending the evening as if we were going to work the next morning. I went to sleep at 11 pm and got woken up at around 12:30 by our university’s alert system. No school on Tuesday! Here’s how my week has been:

Monday night – normal; sleep, hoping to get to stay at home the next day; get alert that campus is closed for Tuesday; go to the living room to enjoy the fire my husband made in the fireplace, stay up and watch “Fellowship of the Ring”, open the curtains on the french patio doors to watch the ice storm roll in. LOVED IT.

Tuesday – slept in, woke up, got a phone call from a friend warning us of possible rolling blackouts due to state emergency (I told you Texas doesn’t experience this type of weather a lot); made coffee, ate breakfast, did our quiet time and got ready for the day; watched movies, decided to paint our fireplace. Yep – painted my fireplace in about 4-5 hours! no rolling blackouts in our neighborhood.

Wednesday – did the “normal” morning routine, baked chocolate chip cookies, bran “bread” (couldn’t find my muffin tins); my husband ventured the ice so he could pick up our mail from the p.o. box; brought home fried chicken! love him for this; read aloud from a book “A Severe Mercy”; nice quiet times; organized the heck out of my kitchen (post forthcoming).

Thursday – again, “normal” morning routine, ate a lot of chocolate chip cookies and drank lots of coffee; husband drove me to campus so I could get stuff from work, to work on at home; picked up Papa Murphy’s Take-n-Bake pizza; eating horribly bad this week; did work at home; had a virtual garage sale! made chicken, spinach and ginger soup for dinner.

Friday – staying at home yet once again; spent some good time reading the Bible and praying – thankful for quiet and thankful for HUGE snow flurries; worked from home and . . . here I am now.

Enjoying another fabulous day!

Here are some pictures from this week:

(ice pellets from Tuesday)

(late breakfast on ice day #1 – eggs, turkey bacon, bran and fruit)

(snow today – it’s been snowing for hours!)

(our curious little cat)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

