Skip to content

recipe: spicy lentil soup

February 13, 2011

If you recall, one of the meals I’d planned for this past week’s menu was a new dish – spicy lentil soup. I’m a big fan of the lentil, and anything spicy, plus the cold weather we had prompted me to make something that could warm up our stomachs.

In my quest of making healthy meals for us, plus to expand my repertoire of cooking, I dug deep into my kitchen cabinet, among all my cookbooks and magazines and recipe files. I found a mini cooking magazine, by Prevention, called “Slow Cooker Meals”. Viola, spicy lentil soup! It’s got some hints of Indian spices (curry) but it’s not overpowering (at least, I don’t think so). I think you can make this soup completely vegetarian by using vegetable broth, but I ended up using chicken broth and tossing in a cup of shredded rotisserie chicken I had in the freezer. If you’ve never eaten lentils in any form or fashion, I suggest giving this recipe a try. Hope you enjoy it!

Spicy Lentil Soup (slightly adapted from Prevention Magazine’s “Slow Cooker Meals”

  • 1 cup green lentils, rinsed
  • 1 can (28 oz) stewed tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 medium potatoes, peeled & diced (about 3 1/2 cups diced)
  • 4 small & thin carrots (about 1 cup diced)
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped (about 1/2 cup)
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tbsp curry power
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 cup shredded rotisserie chicken
  • 4 cups low-fat, low-sodium chicken broth

1. Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker.

2. Cover. Cook on low for 8-10 hours or on high for 4-5 hours. Remove bay leaves before serving.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. I’m Glad « laurel leaf

Leave a Reply

