Skip to content

recipe: tomato-basil soup

February 13, 2011

My husband and I love tomato soup. Specifically, Panera Bread’s creamy tomato soup. We could eat/drink bowls of that stuff! A close second is La Madeleine’s tomato-basil soup. Good stuff right there.

(Yep, this from a girl who still gets nervous eating a big slice of raw tomato. I don’t know, I guess I’m weird like that?!)

Anyways, I attempted to make tomato soup a couple of years ago. The recipe called for milk and the soup ended up being too sweet for my liking (I like my tomato soup tart). Alas, I didn’t attempt making this soup again until recently, when I found a recipe I’d jotted down on a piece of paper, probably from some website. I googled “La Madeleine tomato-basil soup recipe” just now and found numerous recipes that are almost like this one (this recipe had the exact same ingredients – you can find it here).

I am so glad I stumbled upon this recipe!! I don’t know why I hadn’t tried it before but the resulting soup is amazing. It freezes well and the soup is great whether it’s freshly made or reheated on the stove. A perfect meal for a cold day. (Although, Texas can’t seem to make up it’s mind – last week, we had 18 degree weather and now, it’s sunny and in the low 70s. Sheesh.)

Tomato-Basil Soup

  • 4 cups canned whole tomatoes, crushed (not drained)
  • 4 cups low sodium tomato juice
  • 12-14 fresh basil leaves, plus additional for garnish (chopped)
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 tsp cracked black pepper
  • salt to taste

1. Combine all tomato ingredients (crushed & juice) into a large pot. Heat to boiling, then simmer for 30 minutes over medium-low heat.

2. Cool slightly, then pour mixture into a blender. Add basil leaves & puree (you may have to do this in batches).

3. Return the tomato mixture to the same pot, adding cream & butter. Stir over low heat until cream & butter are incorporated.

4. Add black pepper, and salt (to taste preference).

5. Top with chopped basil before serving. Accompany soup with a good, crusty slice of artisan bread.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

