Skip to content

recipe: feijoada or brazilian beans and rice

March 22, 2011

I love Seattle. I think it’s my favorite city to visit in the United States. You see, I have family that live there (oh, how I miss my nieces and nephew) plus the city is close to the mountains and right near water – the best of both worlds! It’s a city full of culture, diversity and unique neighborhoods and restaurants. Thankfully, I’ve been able to visit this great city four times with my husband, where we have eaten some of spectacular food (not just in restaurants but in my sister-in-law’s kitchen – she is one heck of a cook).

On my first visit to Seattle, my husband’s brother took us to Bainbridge Island, just a 30-minute ferry ride away. We walked around the quaint main street, drank some coffee and just did the touristy thing. We stopped by a small bookstore and I saw this cookbook – The Best of Bainbridge, with recipes from locals. I figured it would be a unique souvenir so I bought it. I had not tried a recipe from it and it’s been 3 years since that visit.

(on the ferry, nearing Bainbridge Island)

Until just recently!

I’m always up for international foods of any kind (well, except I don’t have a keen taste for kimchee or injera) so I found an exotic recipe from this cookbook. I made it with success, and I hope you enjoy it as we did!

Feijoada (Fay-Zhwah-dah) or Brazilian Beans and Rice
(slightly adapted from The Best of Bainbridge)
serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 package (10 oz) chorizo
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp hot sauce (optional if you’re making this for children)
  • 1 cup uncooked brown rice

1.  Cook rice according to directions. While the rice is cooking, heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Use a saucepan that has a fitted lid, as you will use the lid later.

2.  Add chorizo, onion and garlic – saute for 5 minutes until onion is tender.

3.  Add cumin and saute 1 minute. Then add beans, water, pepper and bay leaf. Mix and bring to a boil. Cover, then reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.

4.  Remove from heat, then add bay leaf and stir in vinegar and optional hot sauce. Serve over cooked brown rice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

