Skip to content

friday favorites.

April 1, 2011

I went to my running class last night and it was a beautiful evening. It certainly helped that the weather was wonderful and it was our “easy” day – short interval training, with some ab work. We each laid on foam mats outside the rec center, and all I wanted to do was fall asleep under the sky. My daydreaming was interrupted by our coach’s instructions but every time I got the chance to look up in the sky, I did. I felt like a little kid. And then I remembered the pain I was feeling as I did crunches and planks. Arrrrrrgghhh. I know, I know. Core work is necessary. Blah blah blah.

šŸ™‚

On the drive home, I knew exactly what I wanted to do – roll down the windows in my car, listen to a violin quartet being played on 101.1 WRR and let the cool breeze of the evening fan my face. A great “cool-down” of sorts, after a nice workout. I absolutely loving driving with the windows rolled down when there’s a breeze blowing. Love it. One of my favorite things to do. I sort of wish I was one of the cool kids and had an iPhone that I could use to take a picture of the scenery I drove past, but that would be unwise as I was driving. I like to be alive, you know? Plus, I’m old-school – I’ll stick to my pay-as-you-go phone and limited connectivity to the interwebs. Anyway, it made me think of other things that I love so that’s what led to this post.

Friday Favorites!

1.Ā  Movies (pictures courtesy of amazon.com)
I am a movie-watcher, film buff, cinema fan. I like everything from brainless comedies starring Pauly Shore (Encino Man, anyone?) to foreign films. I love chick flicks and historical films. I can’t get enough of documentaries. Some of my favorite movies, though are:

The Abyss

Schindler’s List

Auntie Mame

Sweet Land

Empire of the Sun

2.Ā  Fried chicken (picture courtesy of Babe’s Fried Chicken)
I have a reputation among family and friends for my constant hankering for fried chicken. One of my goals in life? To hunt down the best fried chicken EVER. I know, I have high ambitions. So far, the best fried I’ve eaten is:

Babe’s Fried Chicken

 

3.Ā  U2 (pictures courtesy of U2 and amazon.com)
I want to meet Bono one day. I want to hear U2 live in Ireland. I doubt those things will happen but a girl can dream. In the meantime, I’ll look back to the Vertigo Tour in 2005 – yep, I saw them play live at the AAC. Granted, I was seated in the nose bleed section, but whatever. U2 live is U2 live. Plus, I always have my collection of U2 albums to listen to. Some of them . . .

 

Joshua Tree

Best of 1980-1990

No Line on the Horizon

Achtung Baby

All That You Can’t Leave Behind

 

4.Ā  Hoodies (picture courtesy of UNT Bookstore)
Too bad the hot Texas summer is looming. It’s impending. It will be here before I know it. Oh how I was I could live in hoodie weather all year long. I own 10 hooded sweatshirts and I probably won’t be able to wear them comfortably until November 2011. Is 10 one too many to have? I don’t think so.

5.Ā  Books (courtesy of amazon.com)
My absolute favorite past-time is to read. That’s my way of unwinding and doing “nothing”. Whenever it’s cold, rainy and dreary, all I want to do is put on pajama pants and a hoodie (see #4), sit in my living room with the curtains drawn open and read a good book. Some of my favorite books are:

 

Little Women by Louisa May AlcottĀ 

Around the World in 80 Days by Jules VerneĀ 

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – the original unabridged version, of courseĀ 


Joy Luck Club by Amy TanĀ 

I, Isaac, Take Thee, Rebekah by Ravi Zacharias

Hercule Poirot mysteries by Dame Agatha Christie, especially Murder on the Orient Express

 

Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

What are some of YOUR favorites?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 1:50 am

    Ooooh, Babe’s Chicken. I haven’t been there in over a year, and it’s definitely calling to me!

    Loved your definition of yourself. Way better than mine. How could I not put in child of God, saved by Grace? Wow… bad bad me.

Leave a Reply

