Skip to content

random: inspiration, confession and swag.

April 7, 2011

Warning: the following thoughts may be disjointed. I blame the blazing Texas heat. Let the randomness commence.

I discovered a new blog today. I find myself reading more and more blogs about fitness, running and life – and everything in between. It’s a pretty neat blogging community out there and I’m beginning to make connections with other bloggers, learning a little from each one of them. So, this new blog is called Daily Garnish, written by a runner & chef named Emily. She’s got a section on her blog just about her running journey, specifically a post called “You don’t have to run a marathon”. One part of it really struck a chord with me and it gave me a little bit of inspiration:

“But even with 5 marathons medals on my wall, my proudest running moment will always be the first time I ran for one entire mile without stopping.  It was the first time I felt like I was no longer the fat girl, but instead – an athlete.”

It made me think about my proudest running moment. Well, I don’t think I had a particular “moment” per se but more of a realization that I’ve committed myself to running – that I have consistently run for a year now (with a break or two for physical rest and for our house move). Running was a chore that became a habit that became something I absolutely love to do. I actually look forward to lacing up my shoes, go outside and run. I am a runner. Not a fast one, but I’m a runner nonetheless. End inspiration.

So . . . here’s the confession. Along those lines, I definitely had a “moment” today. After work I go to my running class. The class did 3.75 miles but I ended up doing a bit more – I think a total of 4 miles. Wednesdays are considered our long run days – it’s a 10k class so we run a longer distance once a week instead of speed intervals. Anyways, I came all ready to run in 35 mph winds and high heat, slathered in sun screen and wearing my new running clothes (I splurged on Nike tempo shorts). It definitely was very hot but I was able to run and talk to some buddies – it was an enjoyable pace. Keeping in mind how hot it was, I sweated. Didn’t think much about it because everyone else was sweating like me. On my way home, I stopped by Walgreens to pick up a bottle of Gatorade. Walked in, grabbed the drink, paid for it and walked back out. As I went to open my car door, I caught my reflection. Ummm, yeah. My shirt was soaked with sweat in some interesting places. I’ll leave it at that. It made me wince – I wondered what my running friends and those in the store thought when they saw me in all my sweat-soaked glory! Ack!! But my “moment” came when I realized that even though I was embarrassed for about 30 seconds, I realized I didn’t care. I run, therefore I sweat. And I look pretty hideous after a run. But it’s just one of those things – one of those things in life that you have to accept. You can’t run and be pretty or lady-like. Just won’t happen, nosirree. At least, I haven’t discovered that secret.

Moving on.

Swag! For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s free stuff. That’s right – FREE STUFF! Stuff you get when you register to run a race, for example. Well, I am signed up to do a 5k in my own town and at no cost. It’s being put on by the county healthy department to encourage residents to combat cardiovascular disease by being active and exercising. I picked up my race packet and got the best swag bag ever! (Okay, so I haven’t run that many races but I have to say, I liked what I received more than what the Dallas Rock & Roll Half Marathon had to offer – and that race cost a bit of money. I think I got 2-3 samples of Gu chews and a drink mix, a Garmin sticker, a technical shirt that doesn’t fit me well, and flyers, etc.) Here’s what I got tonight:

Tshirt, frisbee-like thing, a mini Clif bar, flyers and brochures about health and fitness, a water bottle and a reusable grocery bag (not the netbook in the background, haha). It’s not anything fancy but it’s stuff I can use like the water bottle, shirt and bag. I don’t know – for some reason I am really impressed with this swag, I think because it’s didn’t cost me a penny to enter the race and it’s our local government who sponsored this, all to help its citizens become active and healthy. Impressive, don’t you think?

Okay, enough randomness. I’m signing off – goodnight!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 5:21 am

    Michelle-

    Thanks for this post!!! I too had a moment tonight after leaving the gym for only the 2nd time in my life and seeing how I looked in the car window. YIKES! I must say though that as I peeled off my sweat soaked shirt and welcomed the hot shower, I felt ubber pumped up! More Sweat means more results which means we’re doing it right!

    Also, we took Avery to North Lakes tonight and saw all the runners, I kept looking our for you. 😉 Next week I’ll live 3 minutes from there, soooo excited.

    Love your blog, love your words, love you!

    Congrats on being a runner.

    • April 14, 2011 2:07 am

      Britt, thank YOU for your kind words! I’m looking forward to running into you at North Lakes one of these days. And let me know if you ever want to run together!

  2. April 7, 2011 11:15 am

    I love Daily Garnish! I’m totally going to steal her idea for pregnancy updates when that time comes. Have you read Oh She Glows? That’s another good one.

Leave a Reply

