Skip to content

two tangent tuesday: food and drink edition.

April 12, 2011

One of my blog friends, Leslie at Mommy’s Going For a Run, does a little Tuesday post called Two Tangent Tuesday so I thought I’d give it a try, since I haven’t done much cooking in a few days. No worries, though, we’ve been eating. What kind of wife did you think I was?! Ha – we’ve just gone out to eat or consumed leftovers.

So, here’s Two Tangent Tuesday: food and drink edition.

1.  I love going to coffee shops. Living in a college town, we have an over-abundance of these. No problems with me, because it’s just more to choose from. It’s also nice since my husband and I are no longer students, we can sit in a coffee shop, enjoy our drinks and maybe eat some pastries, without having our heads buried in textbooks. No sirreee. Poor college kids. I paid my dues and so must they (mwahahahaha). But back to the point – there are several coffee shops we frequent, because we are all about supporting local businesses whenever we can. Nothing wrong with that big coffee chain that shall remain nameless (well, other than the fact that they can be overpriced, ahem ahem) but I particular enjoy the homey feel of our local venues.

  • Exhibit A – Zera Coffee Company. The decor is shabby-chic, complete with rustic furniture, etc. Not exactly my style but the place has plenty of seats to choose from. Their coffee selection is fantastic and they offer other things like Italian soda and Mexican hot chocolate. Sure, they play cheesy early 1990s Christian music, but that’s okay. If you’re there to hang out with friends, you’ll be concentrating on your conversations and not on Twila Paris singing in the background.
  • Exhibit B – Art Six. This place is the epitome of cool. Student artwork hangs on the walls and it changes out every so often (sometimes shocking, but overall very interesting). There’s live music that happens on Friday nights and they show movies out in the backyard. That’s right, I said backyard. You see, Art Six is in an old house converted into a coffee shop. Pretty cool, right?

2.  Last night at dinner, my husband and I commented on the fact that I’ve come a long way in my eating habits. Meaning, I used to like crap (what college kid doesn’t), as in a lot of junk and fast food, and no vegetables. To the point where I wouldn’t even eat my own mom’s eggrolls because it had carrots, onions and cabbage in it. I mean, SERIOUSLY?! I cannot believe that I was in the dark for so long, so afraid to eat vegetables. But the past is past and we’re here today. I am glad that I’ve become more open with things I eat and have evaluated how I should be taking care of myself through food. So, yes, while I do eat the occasional fried chicken and consume a chocolate bar with almonds, I’ve gone leaps and bounds with my diet, from snacks I eat to dinners I cook. I eat most green-colored vegetables except for the bell pepper (has too distinct of a taste); we’re working on the reds, haha. I love asparagus, green beans, cauliflower, broccoli, edamame, sweet potato, mushrooms and collard greens. And you know what’s helped? Learning to cook with fresh vegetables as opposed to using frozen ones. For me, it’s made a BIG difference – and the vegetables just taste better to me. I’ve also learned to really enjoy fruit and eat that instead of cake or cookies for dessert. I don’t have an iron will but I do think I’ve been making better choices now more than ever. I’ve still got a long way to go (i.e. eating a slice of red onion in my burger) so baby steps here and there.

And that’s it for Two Tangent Tuesday 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 2:25 am

    Yay!!! Nice post. Adulthood has done a ton for my eating habits too – probably because adulthood and parenthood came simultaneously for me, and I started eating healthy to eat the way I want my kids to eat. can I get your moms egg roll recipe? Or is it family secret?

    • April 13, 2011 2:35 am

      Leslie, that’s been a motivation for me! I mean, we don’t have kids yet but I know I can’t make my kids eat something that I won’t eat, you know? Will def. get you my mom’s egg roll recipe. I’ve made it several times and it’s one of those you just eye-ball. It’s been a while since I’ve made it so that will happen, soon I hope!

      • April 13, 2011 7:30 pm

        I’m good with eye-balling recipes. I tend not to measure things anyways! I saw your beet cheesecake recipe – I’m totally making that. We get our fruits/veg from a co-op, so you take what you get, and I always struggle with what to do with the beets then they’re in my bin. Now I know!!!

Leave a Reply

