Skip to content

recipe: penne with pesto & spinach mixture

April 13, 2011

[disclaimer, added 10:16 pm – the following paragraph & stats about running is by no means my way of showing off. because I got NOTHIN’ to show off. writing about my running is just a way of encouraging myself to keep going, and I hope, others can be encouraged as well. self-proclaimed slow-pokes, unite! end disclaimer.]

After work, I went to my running class and we tackled 4.9 miles. The heat was not that bad (like 90% better than Saturday morning), and there was a lightly cool breeze blowing which was a plus in my book. One of my friends and I were at the front of the pack. John is a marathoner so I think I was definitely slowing him down but we were cruising at a pretty decent clip, comfortably conversing for most of the run. But boy, once we hit the 4 mile mark, John took off so of course, I followed suit. Fastest pace of the run was during that last 0.9 mile at 8.12 min/mile. It was a longer run than what our coach had planned, but I didn’t mind.

Some stats for you because I’m cool like that. Not really. Who would have thought that I would love numbers this much, considering I absolutely hated math growing up?! (it’s outlined like this because I had to convert my #s from miles/hour to min/mile, or else I would have just copied & pasted my Garmin stats straight from the website)

End of mile 1

  • completed in 11:47
  • maximum speed at one point was 10 min/mile

End of mile 2

  • completed in 11:00
  • maximum speed at one point was 9.23 min/mile

End of mile 3

  • completed in 11:13
  • maximum speed at one point was 9.52 min/mile

End of mile 4

  • completed in 11:21
  • maximum speed at one point was 9.23 min/mile

End of run, 0.9 miles

  • completed in 8:33
  • maximum speed at one point was 8.12 min/mile

Anyhoo, I knew that I would not have enough energy (or the want) to make a “fancy” dinner (as in cutting up vegetables, ha) so I just threw some pantry and fridge staples together and voila! An easy post-run run dinner that would be filling and tasty for both my husband and I. And if you can’t tell by quite a few of my posts – I LOVE pesto. I mean, I really love it. I have a favorite brand of pesto – Classico – but if I have time, I like to make my own. But I’m digressing. If you are looking for a quick dinner idea, give this one a try. I promise, you won’t regret it. Then, you might just become a pesto addict like me.

Penne with Pesto & Spinach Mixture

Ingredients

  • whole wheat penne (half a box, perhaps; enough for 2 large servings)
  • 6-8 heaping tbsp of your favorite pesto (or more, if you’re like me, hehe)
  • 1/2-1 cup of frozen spinach leaves, thawed
  • 2 tbsp of chopped smoked sun-dried tomatoes
  • 3 chicken tenderloins, cut into small pieces
  • crumbled goat cheese

1. Cook penne according to box directions. Set pasta aside when done.

2. In a small saucepan, medium heat, mix the pesto, spinach, tomatoes and chicken. Cook for 7-10 minutes on that heat, until chicken is done. Mix ingredients well.

3. Combine pesto & spinach mixture with penne in a large bowl, and sprinkle with crumbled goat cheese. Add more pesto, if you like.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 1:54 am

    I am ADDICTED to pesto. I buy it at Costco during the winter, and like to make my own during the summer when my Basil is in bloom, but I often go through all my basil plants within a few weeks. This makes my mouth water! And sundried tomatoes… if they didn’t cost so much, I’d eat a can a day!

Leave a Reply

