Skip to content

recipe: chickpea curry, redux! (with lentils & spinach)

April 14, 2011

I know I’ve already posted a quick chickpea curry recipe (found here, during our big move to our first purchased house), but this dish is a staple with us. Besides, it is super easy and quick to make and I am all about that. My running class meets late on Thursdays (we did plyometrics, my first time at it – very hard and probably one of the best workouts I’ve ever done) so I didn’t get home until 7:45 pm. Poor husband, I figured he would be starving so I needed to make a filling and healthy dinner, and fast! Luckily, I’ve got this recipe in my arsenal. I make this curry with just chickpeas, but at times, I’ll add chicken. Tonight I wanted to make it a bit healthier so I added some green lentils that I froze a while back, as well as some spinach. I have to admit, I am hooked with this version. Give it a try and I hope you enjoy it!

Chickpea Curry, redux! With green lentils and spinach (serves 4)

Ingredients

  • 6-8 tbsp of Patak’s Curry Paste (mild)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 14 oz can of chickpeas, drained
  • 1 14 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2-1 cup of cooked green lentils
  • 1/2-1 cup of frozen spinach leaves (thawed if you have time)
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1-2 tbsp canola oil

1. Heat oil to medium high heat in a large, deep saute pan. Cook onions for a few minutes, until they are translucent.
2. Put chickpeas in the pan and cook for a few minutes.
3. Add lentils and spinach, mixing gently.
4. Add curry paste, stir well, then add water. Bring to a boil, then simmer the mixture for about 20-25 minutes.
5. Serve chickpea curry hot with brown rice.

(feel free to use curry powder for more heat and more spinach, if you like)

And some tidbits for you (from World’s Healthiest Foods):

  • Chickpeas, or “garbanzo beans are an excellent source of sulfite-detoxifying molybdenum and energy-producing manganese. They are also a very good source of heart-healthy folate and a good source of muscle-building protein, digestive-supportive dietary fiber, antioxidant-promoting copper, and energy-producing phosphorus and iron. The fiber in garbanzo beans is mostly insoluble, and it has been shown to undergo conversion into short chain fatty acids (SCFAs) in the large intestine and provide support for our digestive tract in that way.”
  • Lentils “an excellent source of molybdenum and folate. They are a very good source of dietary fiber and manganese and a good source of iron, protein, phosphorus, copper, thiamin and potassium.”
  • Spinach “is an excellent source of bone-healthy vitamin K, magnesium, manganese, and calcium; heart-healthy folate, potassium, and vitamin B6; energy-producing iron and vitamin B2; and free radical-scavenging vitamin A (through its concentration of beta-carotene) and vitamin C. It is a very good source of digestion-supportive dietary fiber, muscle-building protein, energy-producing phosphorus, and the antioxidants copper, zinc and vitamin E.”
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

