Skip to content

using my love of running.

April 30, 2011

Hello, friends. Can I share something with you? Something that is really important with me?

My husband Bryan and I are long-time supporters of Samaritan’s Purse. If you’re not familiar with SP, it is a non-denominational evangelical association that provides spiritual & physical aid to people around the world. We are so thankful for a relief organization such as SP to help those who are in need.

The world has been hit with numerous disasters lately. From the devastation in Japan to the tornado damages in the South (Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee & Mississippi). I just can’t turn a blind eye to this. Though I know that what I donate isn’t much in the grand scheme of things, I know it matters. A little goes a long way. And when others join me in helping those who are suffering, I really do believe we can make an impact in people’s lives. Would you considering helping?

As many of you know, I run and actually love doing so (but it’s taken me a year of consistent running to build this love). I ran two half-marathons recently within a month of each other and I’m now getting ready to run the “Triumph Over Pain” 10k in McKinney, TX on May 14, 2011. I pay to register for these races and it made me think. I use my money to run a race that no one is forcing me to do (I say because some still wonder why I willingly run!). Why not use my love of running to help those in need? Why not use running to direct attention to those who are suffering?

Yes, it’s only 6.2 miles (nothing long at all like a marathon) but it’s a race that I am looking forward to doing. I’m in the middle of training with a great running class in Denton and all of us have worked hard to hopefully be able to cross that finish line with smiles on our faces. I am dedicating this 10k and any money raised to the relief efforts of SP.  Will you give $6.20? Or $10? Or $62? Again, every little bit helps.

If you visit this website, you will be able to securely donate any amount you can give. My goal is to raise $300. I believe with your help, this amount can be easily raised. And Samaritan’s Purse will definitely use any extra money I raise beyond my goal. I would love it if you partnered up with me in my efforts to help those devastated by the tornadoes in the South and the earthquakes in Japan.

Thanks for reading and for letting me share my heart with you. I hope your weekend is as blessed as mine!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

