Skip to content

two tangent tuesday!

May 3, 2011

It’s Tuesday and you know what that means . . . a little bit of randomness for you 🙂

1. The weather the last three days has been glorious. Glorious, I tell you! Others may disagree, but I’ve been loving the cold and the rain. Saturday, my husband and I ventured out to our town’s annual arts & jazz fest. Mainly for the food, hehe, but for the music, too. Within one hour, we consumed a chicken pita with rice, butterfly potato chips, frozen lemonade, beer and a chocolate ice cream sundae. Yep. A lot of food. But we considered it a treat, since we don’t ever go to carnivals or fairs to eat this kind of stuff and we rarely eat this badly. We also did venture over to one of the music stages, which was good fun. I’m continually amazed at how talented our university music students are! That day, the high was up to 85 to 90 degrees, I think. It was pretty hot. But come Sunday morning, it was rain, cold, rain, cold, as in the low was like, 45 degrees. Lovely! The husband and I bundled up so we could be the official door openers at our church. Who would have thought we would need gloves and hats? Yesterday was rainy and cold, too. Sweaters two days in a row, in May? Yes please. Today is equally as nice, though the clouds are gone and the sun is shining. I’ll take it. That’s Texas weather for you.

(the jazz fest we went to; picture taken from here)

2. I was able to run Saturday morning. I wanted to do a 3-mile workout, running at a 9 min/mile pace but we got to the park kind of late and it was already hot and humid. I ended up doing a 1 mile timed run, in 8:30. Not my fastest mile (7:43) but I was happy with it. I then did very short intervals (at least it was something, right?) – 30 second run at 6:22 min/mile pace [best pace at 5:30], walk, 1 minute run at 6:14 min/mile pace [best pace at 5:44], walk and 30 second run at 5:37 min/mile pace [best pace at 5:21]. Wasn’t the workout I wanted to do but it was good nonetheless (I also got to enjoy the park with my husband, so it’s a win-win). Yesterday, because it was rainy all day, I opted to just go straight home from work and do a workout there. The rain stopped by the time I got home, so I missed a speed workout with my running class. (Thankful for getting a mini speed session on Saturday!) I did a “walking” workout DVD – 3 miles in 45 minutes, complete with weights during the last 15-minute segment. Today, after work, I am going to go back to doing my old kettlebells routine, which I haven’t done in several months. Hurrah, strength training!

Happy Tuesday to you 🙂

PS – congratulations to my running coach Daniel for a 4th place finish in his age group at the 1st annual ITU Cross Triathlon World Championships in Spain! All of us knew he would kick some major behind. His mom (yep, you read it right) also placed – #1 in her age group. An amazing accomplishment to both! Here’s an article about them – http://www.usatriathlon.org/news/2011/04/27/texas-duo-goes-off-road-in-spain/42036

PPS – I’ve raised $75 (out of $300) through the help of friends and co-workers for my 10k race benefiting Samaritan’s Purse! If you’d like to donate, please click here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

