Skip to content

recipe: salmon with sun-dried tomato pesto

May 24, 2011

It’s been quiet around here on the blog front, huh? My apologies – it’s been a busy last few days. Let’s end this silence now, shall we?

Like I said, our weekend was busy. Biiiiizeeeee. Seriously! Even though we didn’t have any social plans (asides from me paying a friend of mine a visit to see her and her new baby on Sunday), it seemed like the weekend flew by. Both the husband and I got haircuts, then ran errands (bought two plants – tomato and sweet basil! planted in containers, now I’m crossing my fingers and hoping for the best) and did yard/house work. We have the labor divided – husband does the yard work and I’ll do the stuff indoors, like laundry and sweeping the floors, etc. And boy, did I do a ton of laundry! Note to self: put up clean clothes the same day they come out of the dryer, instead of using the armchair as a closet. I also made a dozen veggie burgers – my first attempt at this! I will blog about this soon, because I’m quite proud of myself that it turned out so well. Wife tested, husband approved 🙂 For now, here’s a quick dinner I threw together on Sunday night – salmon with sun-dried tomato pesto. I’ve posted before about eating a similar meal but today’s post actually outlines the steps. Very easy, very healthy. Hope you enjoy it!

Salmon with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 salmon fillets (thawed if frozen)
  • 4 tbsp of your favorite sun-dried tomato pesto (buy from the store or make your own)
  • summer savory (herb mix)
  • spinach leaves
  • olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Drizzle a little bit of olive oil on a baking sheet.

2. Place the salmon fillets on the sheet and top with 2 tbsp of pesto on each fillet.

3. Sprinkle 1/2 tsp of savory on each fillet.

4. Cook for 5-7 minutes, or until the salmon flakes easily with a fork. Broil for 1 minute.

5. Place each fillet on a bed of spinach leaves and serve immediately.

On another note, I did my first run of the summer season at our university’s rec center, on the indoor track (8 laps = 1 mile). My goal was to try and run 10-12 laps at my 8 min/mile pace. That did not happen. I think I’m still letting fear get the best of me. Fear that I can’t handle the physical “pain” of running at that fast speed (fast for me, at least!). I at least managed to run a mile in 8:14. Realistically, I think an 8:15-8:30 min/mile pace will be attainable but I’ll still try for an even eight minutes. My mile splits are below. Not running tonight, but I hope to run 5-6 miles tomorrow at a 9 min/mile pace. Will shoot for 3 miles at the same 9 min/mile pace on Fridays.

Mile 1 8:14
1st lap 1:00
2nd lap 1:01
3rd lap 1:01
4th lap 1:02
5th lap 1:03
6th lap 1:04
7th lap 1:03
8th lap 1:00
Mile 2 10:17
1st lap approx. 2:07
(walked this one and didn’t hit the lap button my watch)
2nd lap 1:23
3rd lap 1:14
4th lap 1:15
5th lap 1:14
6th lap 1:15
7th lap 1:14
8th lap 1:15
Mile 3 10:08
1st lap approx. 2:07
(walked this one; used this lap time for my walk lap during the 2nd mile)
2nd lap 1:17
3rd lap 1:15
4th lap 1:16
5th lap 1:15
6th lap 1:14
7th lap 1:14
8th lap 1:10
One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura G. permalink
    May 25, 2011 12:31 am

    This recipe sounds delicious and easy! Smitty and I are trying to eat more fish in addition to just being more healthy. I am going to try this one- for sure! Thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

