Skip to content

recipe: veggie and bean burgers

June 3, 2011

I never thought I would say this but I love veggie burgers. Never in a million years did I think this would happen but it has. And this love is here to stay. I try to keep a box of these burgers in the freezer, for an easy meal (hello, sandwiches!) when I’m in a hurry and out of time. Usually, though, I’m not too keen on the prices for four patties. So I thought, why not try to make my own?

Thanks to Betty Crocker’s Easy Everyday Vegetarian (Meatless Main Dishes You’ll Love), I found such a recipe that I will use again and again and again. It’s that good, I think! Even my husband, who doesn’t think veggie burgers should be called burgers, really likes these. This recipe takes time and effort, but totally worth it. I doubled the recipe and was able to make 12 burgers, patties, whathaveyou. I hope you enjoy this!

Veggie and Bean Burgers
(slightly adapted from Easy Everyday Vegetarian)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup instant rice, already cooked
  • 1 cup fresh broccoli florets
  • 8 medium whole mushrooms (4 oz)
  • 1 regular size red bell pepper, cut up in small chunks (seeded, of course)
  • 3 cups freshly cooked chickpeas (look at me, my foray in fresh bean making!) OR two 14.5 oz cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp seasoned salt
  • 2 tsp dried minced onion
  • 2/3 cup unseasoned breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp savory (herbs)

1. Using a food processor (I have a small one so I had to do this in 2 batches, probably should have done it in 3), finely chop the broccoli, mushrooms and bell pepper. Don’t puree!

2. In a large bowl, mix the veggie mixture with the cooked rice. Set aside.

3. Again, using your food processor, place the beans, eggs, garlic and seasoned salt – puree until smooth. Do this in batches, if necessary.

4. Stir the bean mixture with the veggie mixture, and add the minced onion, breadcrumbs and savory to everything. Stir well.

5. Measure ½ cup veggie and bean mixture to make a ½ inch thick patty. Cook immediately, probably 4-5 minutes on medium high heat with maybe 1 tbsp of oil, each side. If frozen, cook 5-7 minutes on medium high heat, both sides as well. Make sure you watch that the patty doesn’t burn!

NOTE 1 – if you’re going to freeze these veggie burgers, line a cookie sheet with plastic wrap or wax paper. Lay each patty on the lined sheet, then freeze. When the burgers are frozen, wrap each patty individually in wax paper. Place all the wrapped burgers in a freezer ziploc bag.

NOTE 2 – we’re a low sodium kind of family so this veggie burger may seem a little bland to you. We were fine with it, as we used condiments to give it a little more oomph.

NOTE 3 – the other day, I was hungry and just looking for a quick meal. I ended up cooking this veggie burger, topped it with Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce with a side of BBQ baked beans (a lot of beans, but I love ‘em!). Very good! It made me think that I can use these veggie burgers as a meat substitute, which I did yesterday during my lunch break. I defrosted a patty, crumbled it up in the pan, sautéed it in a little oil, cooked it until it was a bit crispy and then placed the crumbled up veggie burger onto some tortilla chips. Then I sprinkled shredded mozzarella cheese and added BBQ sauce and voila! BBQ nachos. So good! I’m thinking I may try and make my black bean tacos with this stuff now. And maybe in spaghetti? Sky’s the limit!

PS – if you still haven’t left a comment on this post – https://thecookinglife.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/recipe-tomato-basil-pasta/ – make sure you do if you want to a chance to win a brand new microplane grater! Leave your comment there (making sure you leave your name, email address and what is your favorite, easy, healthy dinner idea), in that particular post. You have until Sunday at 12 pm to do this 🙂 Good luck!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

