Skip to content

recipe: chocolate biscuit cake

June 6, 2011

Decimation. That’s what I call the picture above.

But let me back up here . . .

So, this weekend was a super busy one for us. Friday night, pretty much straight after work, my husband and I went to our church to attend the membership class. We’ve been going to this particular church for the last couple of years, even serving on the welcome (greeting) team, but never had a chance to attend the membership class – either because we were busy on that scheduled weekend, or we forgot, or the class was full. Anyways, we were so glad to finally be able to attend! Class was a couple of hours on Friday night and about 6 hours on Saturday. (It was very in depth, with lots of talks regarding Scripture and our church’s doctrine, plus time to get to know others who sat at our table. We’re both thankful to be at a strong, Bible-based, Christ-centered church.) After the class on Saturday, we had some time to rest at home plus time for me to make a dessert for my husband’s work party, which was really fun. Lots of food, plenty of conversation and an abundance of laughter.

Anyway, ever since Prince William’s wedding, I’ve been very interested in making this dessert – chocolate biscuit cake. You see, that was his wedding cake! I’d seen it on several blogs online and I thought, why not give it a try? Plus, it’s a no-bake recipe which is even better in my book. Ingredients are simple enough, though you may have trouble finding McVittie’s Digestives (tea biscuits) at your local grocery store, depending on where you leave. I first had digestives on my first trip to Ireland. There, the package actually said digestive sweet meal. My friends and I joked around that it sound like a colon cleansing disk! It’s not, I assure you. The Kroger grocery stores in my town carry these specific tea biscuits in their international aisle. If you can’t find the McVittie’s brand there, try going to a World Market or just find any old tea biscuits and I think it will suffice.

Chocolate Biscuit Cake (very slightly adapted from Huffington Post)

Serves 12

Ingredients

For the cake:

  • 7-ounce package butter tea biscuits (I bought a 14 0z package of McVitties and just used half the package)
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 4 tbsp (1/2 stick) butter
  • 2 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

For the glaze:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • walnut pieces

1. Coat a 7 or 8 inch round springform pan with cooking spray.

2. In a small bowl, break up the tea biscuits into chunks, about 1/4 to 1/2 inch each piece. Make sure they are chunks, not crumbs.

3. In a large, microwave-safe bowl, mix the cream, honey and butter and microwave for about 2 minutes or so, or until it’s bubbling (when I did this, the cream was bubbling but the butter was not all the way melted; that’s okay, because when you stir it, the butter will melt). Add the chocolate, stir until the pieces are melted and the mixture is smooth. Add vanilla and stir.

4. Add the biscuit chunks, mix carefully until the biscuits are incorporated well into the chocolate mixture. Spoon the contents into the springform pan. Make sure there are no air pockets in the pan (do this by tapping the pan gently on your counter, like once or twice).

5. Refrigerate for 3 hours or until completely chilled.

6. When the cake is ready, work on the glaze by mixing the 2 tbsp of butter and 1/4 cup cream in a small saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring every so often to make sure the cream doesn’t burn. When the cream mixture starts boiling, remove from heat and add the remaining chocolate chips. Stir well, so that the chocolate melts thoroughly and the mixture is smooth.

7. (Because I’m not the smoothest of “bakers”, this is my method of using a springform pan.) Place the springform pan on top of a plate, use a dull knife (like a butter knife) to loosen the sides of the cake and carefully remove the pan sides.

8. Pour the glaze onto the cake, evenly if you’re a perfectionist or sort of haphazardly if you’re like me, allowing the glaze to drip down onto the sides of the cake. Sprinkle the walnut pieces on top of the cake, chill in the fridge (in my case, because I was in a rush, the freezer) until the glaze is set and firm, then serve immediately.

PS – this cake is more like fudge, which can melt, so keep the cake chilled until you’re ready to serve it.

PPS – apparently, it goes well with vanilla ice cream, according to my husband!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 9:41 pm

    This looks delish! I will try it soon 🙂

    • June 9, 2011 10:40 pm

      Ash, it’s super easy. I think you’ll love it! Next time I make it (and there will BE a next time, hehe), I think I will use dark chocolate so it’s not as sweet.

Leave a Reply

