Skip to content

quick meal idea: chicken & veggie kebabs

June 8, 2011

Okay, I lied. I didn’t do my ballet workout DVD at home last night. I left work early at 4 pm because I had not been feeling all that well. Got home, ate a quick snack, then proceeded to nap on the couch for a couple of hours with this sweet little thing:

I will attempt to go to the gym today and run several miles. Darn allergies!

But back to food.

If you don’t know already, while I love cooking and eating fancy meals when I can, I am all about creating simple and quick dishes. Last week for dinner, I made chicken and veggie kebabs plus tabbouleh on the side. We love Mediterranean food around here, plus this meal sounded perfect for a hot summer evening. Unfortunately, we don’t have a grill so I ended up roasting the kebabs in the oven, but it still worked fine. I didn’t label this post as a “recipe” because I just threw some things together for the marinade. If you don’t usually cook like this, give it a try! I used to be afraid if I didn’t follow a recipe, that it would turn out bad (haha, it’s a hit and miss sometimes, I admit) but as I’ve learned more about cooking, I’ve learned what seasonings and herbs go together. Feel free to experiment! I doubt you’ll go wrong.


For the kebabs, I used 6 pieces of chicken tenderloins, cut up in small(ish) chunks, and also slices of zucchini and brown mushrooms. I made a marinade for the chicken – olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano and salt. Simple, right? I placed the chicken in a Ziploc bag and poured the marinade over the chicken. I left it in the fridge overnight for maximum marinade-ness (haha, not a word, I know). When it was time to cook the kebabs, I alternately threaded chicken, zucchini and mushrooms on a metal skewer, sprayed it a bit with non-fat cooking spray, and roasted it in the oven for about 10 minutes on 400 degrees (if I remember correctly; might be a bit off on my calculations, forgive me!). When the chicken is cooked, feel free to put it under the broiler for a few minutes for a bit more color, but this is not necessary. Season to taste with freshly ground pepper. Serve the kebabs with tabbbouleh (I use a box mix, complete with the bulgur and spice packet, but I add freshly diced tomatoes, lots of flat-leaf parsley and the juice of 2 lemons – yum!) or hummus and pita bread. A refreshing meal indeed!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

