Skip to content

recipe: sriracha pork (or slow-cooked asian-style pork, redux!)

June 12, 2011

I had posted this recipe back in January, Slow-cooked Asian-style Pork. Because we think it’s so good, the recipe made its way back to my menu rotation this week. It’s such an easy recipe that I threw it together in the crockpot early afternoon and our dinner was ready as soon as we walked into our house after the evening service at church tonight. I renamed it Sriracha Pork – which has a much better ring to it, don’t you think? Anyways, the recipe is pretty much the exact same thing as the “old” one, but with a couple of changes, like adding more heat (an extra tbsp of sriracha sauce) and using spinach instead of bok choy (which I’m not a fan of). Plus, I posted a great coconut rice recipe below. If you make this dish, it will disappear quickly. Why? Because it’s that good. Enjoy!

Sriracha Pork (for the crockpot)
Serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • ½ cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp sriracha sauce (or, you could stick with 2 tbsp and a bit more later to taste)
  • 1 tbsp sweet chili sauce
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp 5 spice powder
  • 2 lb pork loin, fat trimmed, cut up in large cubes
  • 6 oz bag baby spinach
  • cilantro leaves

1.  Combine the first 5 ingredients in a small bowl.

2.  Put the cubed pork into a crockpot, then pour the mixed sauce over the pork.

3.  Cook on high for 4-5 hours.

4.  The pork is done when you can shred the cubes. Add the spinach leaves and mix well, so that the spinach wilts and gets coated with the sauce.  Serve with coconut rice and cilantro.

Coconut Rice (from thai food.about.com)
Serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • 2 cups jasmine rice
  • 2 cups light coconut milk*
  • 1 ¾ cup water
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp canola oil

1. Pour the canola oil in a large pot (with a tight-fitting lid), and rub the oil over the bottom and the sides of the pot.

2. Place the rice, milk, water, coconut and salt into the pot and mix. Cook on medium-high heat, stirring frequently.

3. When gentle bubbles form as the rice mixture starts boiling, stop stirring, change the heat to low and cover pot with the lid. Simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until the coconut milk has been mostly absorbed by the rice.

4. Once the coconut milk has been absorbed, fluff the rice with a fork, turn off the heat and put the lid back on the pot. You can let the rice sit here for 5-10 minutes, or until you’re ready to serve your meal. The rice will stay warm in the lidded pot.

*I bought a 14 oz can of coconut milk, which was not quite 2 cups. I just added some water to make it the 2 cups.

Also, here’s a picture of the sriracha and sweet chili sauce bottles, for those who are unfamiliar with these two sauces! Hope this helps 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 5:08 am

    We LOVE sriracha sauce in my and my parent’s house! I didn’t actually know the name until now, but it’s a necessity. When we first moved to Dallas, we were at my parents house eating dinner (something curried), and my dad gave that sauce to my husband to try. My hubs loaded it on, and my dad just watched, waiting for a yelp of pain or some sort of reaction to the heat from my hubs. But none came, and my hubs ate it all. Disappointed, my dad told him that he’d never seen anyone use and enjoy so much of that sauce. I am definitely going to make this dish!

  2. June 13, 2011 2:35 pm

    that is awesome! leslie, you will LOVE this dish. it is so good. i packed some for lunch and I’m already salivating, it’s that great, haha.

Trackbacks

  1. friday. so nice to see you! «

Leave a Reply

