Skip to content

recipe: angel hair alfredo

June 13, 2011

Butter. Cream. Pasta. These things just go together well, you know? Yes, they do.

Well, the other day, my friend Kim asked for my fettucine alfredo recipe. I had it made a while while while back but couldn’t really remember exactly how the recipe went (it was a combination of two slightly different ones). I emailed her a basic recipe from the Pioneer Woman Cooks website, trusting that it would be a great one even though I hadn‘t tried it yet. However, I got to looking through my cookbooks on Saturday while I was meal-planning for the upcoming week. I was sure I’d find something! Something easy and something delicious.

Plus, I actually just enjoy reading cookbooks. Is that weird? Don’t answer that 🙂

One of the cookbooks I was perusing was “The New Best Recipe” book, from the editors of Cook’s Illustrated. Have you ever read through a Cook’s Illustrated magazine? It’s greatness! They show tried and true techniques of simple (and some advanced) cooking, complete with, what else, illustrations. The book (sort of a collection of their past magazines) I have is massive, as in 1028 pages. It’s very very heavy. Anyways, I was looking through it and stopped in the pasta section. There I saw a basic fettucine alfredo recipe and at that moment, I knew I just had to have some. (Instant gratification for a foodie, hello!) I could have my pasta and eat it too (haha) and test a recipe for Kim. After making this and of course, eating a bowl of it, I emailed Kim right away and told her to make this instead. Yes, it’s similar to the Pioneer Woman’s recipe and it’s similar to a bunch of other recipes out there for fettucine alfredo. And that’s okay! Because alfredo sauce is very basic. Again, butter and cream, baby, butter and cream.

(But you know what? I ran that bowl off the next day, yesterday specifically, when I went on a 7 mile run! It was a hot, humid morning beginning at 6:30 am, up two hilly routes but I was so happy – my calves were not sore at all. I did start feeling fatigued by mile 6 but I chalk that up to the heat and not having any Clif shot bloks with me. Overall, 7 miles in 1:15, not bad for a training run in the summer. Not bad at all.)

Oh, and as you’ll read below, it’s really angel hair alfredo. I used angel hair pasta because the grocery store I went to ran out of Buitoni’s refrigerated fettucine noodles. If you don’t have fresh homemade pasta, refrigerated egg noodles are the next best thing. The sauce will stick to it well, unlike with dried boxed pasta. So no excuses! Come on. You know you want to try this recipe. Butter and cream!

Angel Hair Alfredo
Adapted from “The New Best Recipe”
Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 cup heavy whipping cream, divided (1 1/3 cup and 1/3 cup)
  • 5 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 12 oz package of Buitoni’s angel hair pasta (or a package of the same brand fettucine noodles)
  • 1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese (melts better than pre-shredded stuff)
  • ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder (and maybe more)
  • (optional) pinch freshly grated nutmeg

1. Cook pasta according to directions (it cooks really quick). Drain and set aside when done.
2. While pasta is cooking, heat large saute pan (big enough to hold the pasta you just cooked) on low heat, combining the 1 1/3 cup cream with all the butter. Add 1 tsp garlic powder to this mixture. “Cook” until butter is melted and cream comes to a bare simmer.

3. Add cooked pasta to the pan, then stir in remaining 1/3 cup cream, parmesan, 1/2 tsp salt (and nutmeg, if you have it). Season with pepper and more garlic powder to taste.

4. Cook for a 1-2 minutes on very low heat, mixing well to combine the ingredients, until sauce is slightly thickened. Serve immediately.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 6:53 pm

    Looks yummy! Speaking of reading cookbooks, I read one on the way back from my last vacation – Maw Broon’s Kitchen Notebook – my souvenir from Edinburgh Castle.

    If I have a choice, I try to pick the hilly way rather than the flat way. That makes us strong!

Leave a Reply

